Hawaiian Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Being from Hawaii it always amuses me that anything with teriyaki sauce and pineapple is automatically labeled "Hawaiian". :-) Seriously, made this the other night and we liked it. It was too much trouble to get the grill going for just my husband and I so I ended up baking the chicken--very tasty. The dipping sauce was wonderful. Definitely making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2001
As written I would not make again. It was too bland and had far too much teriyaki sauce. I would sugguest adding some garlic and red pepper to the mix as well. The sauce was somewhat liquidy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Great recipe! I put the pineapple rings right on the grill & they were wonderful. This recipe made a ton of sauce, so I used the leftover sauce on chicken thighs baked in the oven. Put it on a large package of thighs at 350 for about 35 minutes. Still had enough sauce leftover to spoon over rice. Delicious! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I scaled this recipe down because I only had 3 chicken breasts. I marinated the chicken for about 2 hours in the teryaki and then placed it in a shallow glass dish. Then I poured the soy sauce, brown sugar, etc. mixture on top (I also added a little honey and chopped garlic) and baked it at 350 for about 1/2 an hour. I also topped each breast with two pineapple rings. The chicken came out sooooooooo juicy and flavorful! There was plenty of juice leftover, so I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
It was pretty good but not great.. the second time I made this i cut the Worcestershire down to 2 tablespoons and upped the brown sugar and the pinapple juice to a cup because I like the extra sweetness..i also added a little cornstarch to thickin it up and poured half of it on the chicken about halfway through baking which turned it into a very nice glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
Very good. We changed two things on the dipping sauce 1)cut the soy sauce in half and 2)double the pineapple juice. We served it with grilled corn on the cob and seasoned rice (rice, beef boullion, green onion, pineapple juice, and whatever else you want to throw in). Nice meal. We all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
I change it up a bit, instead of Chicken breast I made it with Chicken Wings. Served at a party, it was the first thing to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIRPAG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
We loved this! The dipping sauce made the whole meal! This was such an easy dinner to make for a weeknight. Next time I'm going to grill the pineapple before putting it on the chicken. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves chicken/pineapple combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Yummy! Great easy way to spice up chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Great! We cut the recipe in half since there is only two of us. Very good dipping sauce and marinade mixture. We brushed the dipping sauce on the chicken and extra pineapple rings at the end of the grilling time and it turned out deliciously! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States