Hawaiian Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I have made this several times now. I had no pineapple so I used canned Mandarin Oranges. We lied it so much I've made the recipe several times and stuck with the oranges. Everyone really likes this dessert: not overly sweet, fairly light. One of the earlier reviewers said the cake doesn't come out like the picture...I find it quite the opposite. The cake maintains its shape really well, even after sitting for over 24 hours. I used Vanilla Pudding from this site instead of the packaged stuff. I also used real whipped cream instead of the dry topping mix. And, lastly, as other reviewers commented: watch the oven closely when toasting the coconut. I burned two lots before I learned my lesson:-D 300f for about 10 minutes should do it but watch it anyway. Ovens vary. The coconut makes it as far as presentation AND taste - so don't omit it. We're serving it to 50 people at our local Senior Activity Centre for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This cake is sooooooooooooo good!!! I used a tub of Cool Whip instead of the envelope stuff, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Be sure to watch your coconut very carefully! It takes a few minutes to do anything at all (even on high heat), but once it starts browning it is very easily burned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Fabulous Cake! I used pineapple juice to make the cake with, other than that I followed the directions as posted. My guests all loved it, took the left overs to work and got rave reviews with many requests for the recipie. This is the perfect summer cake...light, not too sweet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I absolutely LOVE this cake!!! I have been on diet so I made this cake using a sugarfree cake mix, sugar free fat free pudding, fat free cream cheese, cool whip free and 2% milk. It was awesome!!! Took it to work and no one knew the difference. One of the Docs I work for is diabetic and he even ate it without any problems with his sugar!!! For calorie/fat watchers....TRY IT :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This cake was so good. I wasn't paying attention and added the pineapple without draining it first so the pudding layer came out a little runny. Next time I will pay better attention. This is definitely go into my "all time favorite" list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
WOW! What a great cake. This recipe will be on the menu for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Instead of the yellow cake, I used an orange cake. Even more tropical with the flavorings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This was a great cake for the winter blues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was really good! I made a 2 layer cake out of it and put the pudding mixture between the layers and the whipped topping mixture on top as icing. I might try putting pineapple in the cake next time too, but overall, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States