Hawaiian Bruddah Potato Mac (Macaroni) Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a wonderful basic recipe. I used less potato and more macaroni, and less curry. I left out the peas, too because I didn't have any, but you can use whatever amounts or combination you like, and it will be good. I served this next to huli huli chicken, oven kalua pork (both from this recipe site)and plenty of steamed rice, and my guests were transported to Oahu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I have made this recipie several times now I really love it. The so called "potato salad experts" that give this a poor rating have obviously never had a plate lunch Hawaiian style on the Hawaiian islands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Made this recipe last night for dinner tonight, with a few changes based on what I had in the kitchen and personal preferences. For starters I had no macaroni, so it was all potato. Nor did I have celery seed, so I had to use celery salt instead and omitted the salt to taste. Made the recipe otherwise as listed (including the curry correction) and it was just a little bland. So I added a little extra seasonings, and added garlic powder as well. Also, added some sweet pickles and juice. Tonight it was delicious!! My husband rarely likes potato salad and had two giant helpings- so you know it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REf
Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I liked it and did adjust the curry powder down as suggested by others. Next time I make it I will decrease the potatoes and increase the macaroni. Personal preference. I followed the instructions for the eggs exactly and they came out perfect! I also added chopped celery for a little crunch. The peas and carrots add color and flavor. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jasmine Sohrakoff
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made a version of this with what I had and the curry was a great addition that I hadn't known about. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Sohrakoff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Spectacular! I am not one for egg salads or potato salads, generally, but the dressing was really delicious and I highly recommend this recipe. LOVED the macaroni in it and the curry and cilantro flavors. I will definitely make this again!! (Reduced the amount of curry, as per the other reviewers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Yes, Correction, The curry was meant to be 1-1/2 teaspoon NOT in TBS...that was an error..Soli (Sorry)! It usually is more macaroni in most recipes but our family likes more potato than macaroni! Like was in the intro "to each his own potato mac salad!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuihalalalala
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Sooo yummy! It came out great! I didn't use the Sherry Vinegar but it still tasted authentic! For years we were trying to find out the ingredients that make this salad so unique and noe we've found it, made it about 4x so far and is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Pretty yummy. People enjoyed the curry flavor. Took others' advice & modified but came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimisarita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very tasty! Only thing too much curry for me. I used about 2 to 3 teaspoons. Everyone like this salad it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States