Hawaiian Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
very nice bread. Made 2 loaves that were perfect amount of batter. I didn't have nuts so added a little more coconut and also added some chopped marachino cherries for color and flavor. Also added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. I really didn't measure the banana and pineapple. Had some pineapple rings in juice leftover in the fridge so just cut the rings into bite size pieces and added the juice. Had 2 ripe bananas. Added 1 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. each cinnamon and nutmeg. Added just a hint of flavor and was a nice layering of all flavors from the fruits and spice. Baked up perfectly and rose like a picture. Nice to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This was wonderful! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I especially liked that this did not have to be prepared in a bread maker. I thought it would be similar to King's Hawaiian bread but this was more like a cake. It's delicious though! I left out the coconut and walnuts and halved the recipe for one loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
WOW!!! Ok, I made a few changes. 1 3/4 cup butter, 1 3/4 cup sugar, 1 1/2 cup banana, 20oz can of crushed pineapple, slightly drained. I used 1 cup 10grain flour, 1 cup quinoa flour and 2 cups white. I also added 1tsp coconut extract and 3/4 cup shredded cocunut. I think the magical trick to making these melt in your mouth is to really cream that butter and sugar like it says too. That helps these fluff up beautifully even with less butter than called for. I made 4 minis loaves and 12 large muffins with this recipe. I am guessing the loaves will freeze well and the muffins will be gone today! Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love this recipe!It is a sweet bread that is very moist and yummy.My 10 year old daughter loves this bread and always has to have seconds.I will make this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
there's no doubt in my mind that this bread was delicious! BUT (there's always a but...) I think I would have prefered to save the trip to the grocery store to get walnuts, coconut, and pineapple and just made plain ol' banana bread because that's what it pretty much was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Very good, next time I will add a cream cheese topping to set it off. YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bone Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Clayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was fabulous! I added cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and a little allspice for my personal taste and used unsweetened dried coconut (about twice the amount called for because I love coconut). Got rave reviews from everyone! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was indeed good. I only had 1/2 cup mashed bananas so I added 1/2 vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. And it still tasted just like banana bread. I was hoping for more of a hawaiian (pineapple/coconut) taste. Maybe more of those or some coconut or pineapple extract. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This bread was very moist and delicious! I will definitely make it again, although I didn't have nuts so I left them out and I think it would have been better with the walnuts in it. I even thought of adding cherries next time. It had a great texture and was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States