Hawaiian Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This was wonderful! My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I especially liked that this did not have to be prepared in a bread maker. I thought it would be similar to King's Hawaiian bread but this was more like a cake. It's delicious though! I left out the coconut and walnuts and halved the recipe for one loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
A good bread, it wasn't quite what I envisioned. I expected something a little sweeter and more like a banana bread. But it was good nonetheless and went very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
there's no doubt in my mind that this bread was delicious! BUT (there's always a but...) I think I would have prefered to save the trip to the grocery store to get walnuts, coconut, and pineapple and just made plain ol' banana bread because that's what it pretty much was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is my husband's new favorite recipe! I didn't have coconut or walnuts, so I added a little extra banana and some raisins. It turned out to be delicious. Very moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
It was very sweet and moist, and I'm glad that a bread maker wasn't needed to make this! I'm also glad that I had the walnuts and coconut, but if I didn't include them, I don't think it would've made that much of a difference. I accidently didn't cut the recipe in half, but fortunately I had an extra loaf pan and some company over to eat the extra loaf! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PerkyKoala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Ongwediva, Oshana, Namibia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Absolutely wonderful. The flavors mellowed together perfectly and the texture was fabulous. This is one of the best sweet bread recipes I've had. I did use some leftover macadamia nuts, instead of walnuts. Also, I made 1 loaf and 12 muffins, reg. size. It freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
very nice bread. Made 2 loaves that were perfect amount of batter. I didn't have nuts so added a little more coconut and also added some chopped marachino cherries for color and flavor. Also added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract. I really didn't measure the banana and pineapple. Had some pineapple rings in juice leftover in the fridge so just cut the rings into bite size pieces and added the juice. Had 2 ripe bananas. Added 1 tsp. salt and 1 tsp. each cinnamon and nutmeg. Added just a hint of flavor and was a nice layering of all flavors from the fruits and spice. Baked up perfectly and rose like a picture. Nice to give away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
We love this recipe! I add 2 tsp vanilla and make 36 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
This was indeed good. I only had 1/2 cup mashed bananas so I added 1/2 vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. And it still tasted just like banana bread. I was hoping for more of a hawaiian (pineapple/coconut) taste. Maybe more of those or some coconut or pineapple extract. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States