Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This sounded great and everyone seemed to love it by the reviews so maybe I only thought I followed the recipe to a "T". It overflowed my 1 1/2lb bread machine pan and ruined the maker entirely with burning all over the interior so the machine is now in the trash and I have to buy a new one. Be aware while trying the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
I made fabulous sticky buns out of this dough. Put in bread machine on dough cycle. Roll out into a rectangle, spread with filling: 1/2c soft butter, 1/4c flour, 3/4c brown sugar, 1T cinnamon mixed together. Roll-up and cut into 1" slices. Spray 2 pans (9x13 each) with Pam. Spread caramel topping in pans: 1c melted butter, 1+1/2c brown sugar, 1/2c corn syrup. Sprinkle chopped macadamia nuts and coconut over topping. Put rolls in pans, cover and let rise until double (30 - 40 min). Bake at 350 for 30 to 35 min. Let cool in pans 5 min, turn over onto a platter or cookie sheet covered with parchment and let caramel run over rolls before removing the pan. Seriously decadent...people are begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Great tasting bread, Teresa. Some of the reviewers suggested that it tasted like Kings Hawaiian Bread. Never having tasted that, I can only imagine....but I will tell you it was wonderful with full flavor and very good texture. I let my bread machine go thru the dough cycle, then I took the dough out and formed the loaf, baking it in a 9x5 loaf pan at 375 degrees for 33 minutes. PERFECT. It makes aromatic toast, too. Yummy. My hubby didn't enjoy it as much as I, he said it tasted too much like banana, well DUH! Maybe I'll cut the bananas to 1/4 cup for his sake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
Absolutely Fabulous. The flavor is just like "Kings Hawaiian Bread" that is purchsed in the grocery store. The only difference is that the crust is not as soft. The first time I made it I didn't measure "exactly" and it did not raise nor brown. The second time I followed the instructions to the "T" and it turned out perfect. You will love this bread.....It will take you all of 5 minutes to throw all the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This bread is wonderful. Tastes great and has a fine texture. I used the sweet bread setting on my bread machine, and the loaf was high and perfectly light brown. Great with homemade strawberry freezer jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
My 10 year old daughter and her friends love this bread with coconut flavor. But my husband is not so crazy about coconut flavor so I made it with vanilla extract instead of coconut and he loved it! I make the dough in my bread machine and take it out and bake it in the oven for about 35-40 minutes. It comes out nicer and slice better. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Excellent! So easy and moist. This was the first recipe i made in my new bread machine i got for christmas. I had no coconut extract so i just used vanilla, and i didnt have any potoato flakes so i just used 1/3 more cup of flour and 1/4 cup more milk and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This the exact recipe I was looking for! I did have to add an extra 1/4c of milk, as it was very dry. But it turned out moist, thick and is a favorite! I even didn't add the coconut extract and it still tasted like I thought it would. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is my favorite bread machine recipe. It's moist and very flavorful, while not being overwhelmingly coconutty. I love it sliced thick, toasted, and buttered. Thanks, Teresa, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
Excellent bread! The only thing that I had to do was add a little water during the neading cycle. Also used baby food bananna's stage 2 which gave a milder bananna flavor. My breadmaker is a horizontal loaf and additional moisture is needed. The whole family loved this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States