Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is so yummy! The smell is wonderful as it bakes, too! I didn't have any coconut extract, so I used vanilla as others have done. My husband and son thanked me as they don't like coconut flavor. I imagine it can only be better with the coconut! I used the sweet bread setting on my machine with a light crust, but the crust was *very* dark, especially on the sides. My husband liked it that way, but my son and I didn't care for it. The inside of the bread was still very, very moist. I think next time I'll take the loaf out of the machine earlier, or I'll bake it in the oven. It could have also been that since we were not home, it sat on the 60 min "warm" cycle and actually kept cooking. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! I can't have King's Hawaiian bread due to the additives in it, and this is an even *better* alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Very moist and very good tasting. I was skeptical with all the ingredients but I gave it a go. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Easy recipe, I did make changes though. I added flaked coconut along with the extract, oat bran, and 10grain flour for part of the white to add fiber. I also did not use all the sugar called for but added more banana. I do not have a bread machine, so done by hand and in the over, was also worried since it did not rise before baking as others have mentioned. But baked up just fine. Good flavor, it just seems to be missing something-maybe added nuts or another flavor? Will make again. Great starting point. Half of it is gone and it has not even cooled yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I thought that it didn't have enough of the "Hawaiian" flavor I'm used to with the store bought bread. I may make it again and try and play with the ingredients some, otherwise I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This was very good. Everyone liked it. I drained the pineapple and added an additional 1/4 C bread flour and reduced the yeast. My bread machine needs less yeast, I think it has a warming cycle on the second rise. My dough always hits the lid if I don't reduce the amount of yeast by at least 1/2 tsp. Very Good. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Great recipe! I made a couple of minor changes: I used coconut flakes and vanilla extract in place of the coconut extract. I also had to add about 1/4 cup water during the first kneading cycle because it was very dry. I used the sweet bread, 2 lb loaf setting on my machine. The bottom and sides of the crust are slightly burnt; probably should have used the 1.5 lb loaf setting instead. But inside, the bread is fluffy and delicious. It would be great for french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made this w/ vanilla instead of coconut flav and w/coconut flav. I also made it in bread machine and another time just made the dough in the bread machine. My favorite version is using the ingredients as stated in recipe, increase to make 2 lb loaf. Make dough in bread machine and then bake in 2 stoneware bread pans, 350 for about 25 min. Then make a glaze to go on top using powdered sugar pineapple juice from the pineapple and coconut flavoring. put glaze on top of loaf while it is still warm and serve warm. It was delicious and everyone at the party I took it to wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was the best bread ever, sweet and soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Yummy bread. I used the dough cycle and put it into a loaf pan to bake. I should have put it into 2 loaf pans. It was too much dough to get done all the way through. It came out very doughy. Next time I will also use just pineapple juice (not crushed pineapple) - I just didn't like the chunks in the bread. I used coconut, vanilla and a few drops of almond extract. Next time I will increase the coconut and almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States