Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Followed the directions exactly. It was very good and moist. My husband says he wishes it were a bit sweeter. I didn't feel like the fruit could be tasted as much as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
the first thing i will say is that this bread tastes AWESOME! however, the recipe itself wouldn't have worked if i hadn't tweaked it quite a bit. at the end of the 1st cycle (where you check the dough), my dough was very wet, so i added about 1/2 cup flour to it. unplugged the bread machine and started over. at the end of the 1st cycle, i could tell the bread wasn't going to rise, so i added the rest of my yeast packet (i think they come in 2-1/4 tsp. packs). after i did all that, the bread came out perfectly. if i hadn't been vigilant, i'm sure it wouldn't have risen at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steelerscari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is DELICIOUS! I made 4 batches of it my first week! My only changes are to increase the recipe by 2/3 (my basis is to use 5 cups of flour: 3 of whole wheat and 2 of bread flour), add 2 T vital wheat gluten (for the whole wheat), 1/4 cup flax seed (for extra healthiness), use olive oil instead of margarine, and coconut oil (it stores with a butter texture) instead of coconut flavoring. (See my custom recipe for all amounts). I let the machine do the hard work, then form it into two loaves or 2 1/2 dozen small rolls. My favorite loaf was to turn it into cinnamon swirl bread. Yummy! I used the rolls to make the "Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches" on this site. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is an excellent Hawaiian Bread recipe. Very sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsygirl64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
My man LOVES this bread and cries for it all the time. I have to use vanilla instead of coconut extract because for some reason he doesn't like coconut. I add a little more milk than what is called for so it comes out softer and is almost doughy around the edges...that's how we roll in our house! This is a great sweet bread recipe that is super easy but makes me look like a #1 baker. Thanks so much for posting this Teresa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cle0fus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Photo by jeridaraven
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is, by far, my favorite bread recipe EVER. I have made so many loaves and they come out PERFECT every time. The pineapple is what really makes this bread. I keep meaning to save some to make french toast... but it's usually gone the very next day!! Yum yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeridaraven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
It was just okay. We weren't overly thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This recipe is awesome! My thirty-something son took one bite and said it was the best bread he had ever tasted in his life. I mixed the dough in the dough cycle of my bread maker (2 hours), punched it down & divided the dough between two greased 8" round cake pans. After rising for about an hour, I baked it at 375o for 25 min. The texture was perfect, light and spongy, and my family liked the coconut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I used 1/2 cup chopped fresh coconut instead of the coconut extract, 1/4 cup honey instead of the sugar, and whole wheat flour instead of the bread flour. This is delicious bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This is wonderful! I made it to have with the slow cooker kalua pork (also from allrecipes.com) and it was a hit! It was super easy too. I can't wait to make it again and take it to work to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States