Hawaiian Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
YUMMY!!! Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
EXCELLENT, easy and subtle in flavor! It made my whole house smell wonderful and it came out beautiful and so tasty no one wanted to leave it alone! Rave review-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I converted this to an oven recipe by mixing the ingredients and baking at 375 degrees for about half an hour. Came out great. Except for the texture (you can taste the crushed pineapple), this tastes just like King's Hawaiian sweet bread. I was worried that it would be overwhelmingly coconutty because while it was rising, all I could smell was the coconut extract, but I can barely taste the coconut. Also, I did not find that I needed to add any extra moisture to the dough; I was actually worried it might be too sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This could be a bit sweeter for me…to compare with King's Hawaiian, but that's something I can do next time. All in all, I love this recipe. This is the 2nd time. The first time I used my bread maker for the whole process. This time I just put it through the dough cycle, let it rise on the counter after tossing in a bread pan, and then baked it at 375 for 21 min. It got really brown on the top, so I brushed it with butter after I took it out. It also didn't bake as long as I thought it should, but it sounded hollow when I thumped it and it's done on the inside. It was smelling done, which is why I took it out early. Next time I'll try 350 for longer so it doesn't brown as much. I liked cooking it in the oven because the loaf ended up nicer to slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Chisholm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Yummy, but doesn't taste like King's Hawaiian. Don't sub vanilla extract for coconut extract, tastes like something is missing w/ vanilla. Second time, I made it as directed, except using 1 1/4 c. pineapple and juice, no wet milk, and 2T. dry milk, it was moist and delicious. Edited 3/19/13: Added 1 tsp sweet buttery dough flavor and it overflowed the pan! Surprised that 1 extra tsp liquid could do this! Suggest placing a baking sheet under your loaf pan if you're baking in the oven just in case (I see others have had problems with overflowing too, even w/o any extra liquid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This is a 2 lb. recipe. If you have a 1 1/2 lb. bread machine, reduce recipe by entering "12" into the servings calculator. I made full recipe in 2 lb. Zojirushi & it rose nicely. I sprinkled coconut on top during last rise. This is sweeter than I like bread. Might make good french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
So, SO good! Didn't change a thing...yummy! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This is wonderful bread! I followed the recipe exactly but once the dough cycle was done, took it out and let it rise an hour in a bread pan. Next time, I want to try making it in a circular pan to give as gifts. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I tried this recipe....the only changes I made were adding 3 tbsp of wheat gluten to the flour and substituting water for the milk....it turned out great....I have found that the gluten makes a higher loaf as I use in in other things too such as cream puffs. The loaf turned out sweet and moist and I will definitely use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Husband and I tried this when it was hot and didn't like it so much. The banana flavor was too strong and husband thought the coconut flavor was very pronounced. Tried it again once it cooled down and those flavors although still there seemed a lot less noticeable. At room temperature the flavor is similar to Kings Hawaiian Sweet Bread Rolls, but not exactly like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States