Hawaiian Belly Buster Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I hate to rate my own recipe, but I felt I needed to post some extra info about this burger for people. I cannot stress enough how important it is to properly form your patties. All the air MUST be out which takes a little time, otherwise they will fall apart. I never have any problems with them falling apart, but I cook a lot of burgers. I also would just like to repeat that the BBQ sauce used in this recipe is very thick. Thick BBQ sauce is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
The name suits it right, but OMGosh.. its so good. I did have to make one change which will just put this over the "top" next time. I did not realize that we had no bacon. I used real bacon bits and just added it to the burger mix. I used Dave's BBQ Sauce from this site because I was out too. I dont have a grill, I did these in my "iron skillet". I also put the slice of pineapple in the skillet just to heat and warm, that was the only thing I did not think would be good was the cold pineapple on the burger. You want to crip your bun. I used homemade hamburger buns from this site too.. When you make these the meal is "all about the BURGER"... Thank you for the recipe.. great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
DELICIOUS!!!! First I halved the recipe. Okay, now I am very familiar with what I like, so when preparing the meat I added a little Adobo and garlic powder. I didn't have hawaiian barbecue sauce, so I used original jack daniels bbq sauce mixed with some pineapple juice from the canned pineapple slices (I used the directed amount in the burger and set some aside for the buns). We use microwavable bacon, so I cooked the burgers with the bacon in the pan next to the burgers then topped the burgers with the bacon and cheese. These burgers have it all, the juiciness, crunchiness, sweet and salty, a great burger and a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Loved these! I only used two pounds on ground beef and they were still huge! I had no problem with them falling apart. We used Sweet Baby Rays Sweet and Spicy bbq sauce. I did add some extra sauce to the burger! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
We LOVED these! I made them exactly as written except for just cooking the bacon seperately and putting it on the burger after (I never have good luck w/ wrapping the bacon around, lol). I had no trouble with them falling apart or anything. I served them on toasted Hawaiin Burger Buns. This recipe is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
a great spin on an old classic, definatly worth making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These were excellent-YUMMY!!! I did not refrigerate- no time. I did not grill the bun or pineapple. I actually put the burgers on a broiler pan in oven for about 10 minutes on each side. This was a last minute throw together but worked GREAT. EVERYONE loved them. I will plan to create exactly next time just to see if they can get any better. Thanks Steve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inuyasha211
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
these were so good, i had no problem with them not sticking together on the grill, i used budweiser bbq sauce, they came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inuyasha211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I like the general idea of this burger, but we changed a few things... first, I halved the reciped and used ground turkey instead of beef. Also, i ommitted the monterrey jack and bbq sauce and instead used teryaki sauce. Then, instead of french fried onions, we used grilled onions. They were delicious!!!! We loved the way the pineapple tasted with the bacon and teryaki... it was a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejnlu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Good, I love grilled pineapple and this was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States