Hawaiian Belly Buster Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mykidsmom
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This was a good burger, i did make some changes, ground turkey instead of beef, also could not find french fried onions so i used a smokey bbg flav. onion rings, and fresh pinapple that we grilled. this was not a big hit with the kids, but the adults we had eating with us really liked it. will def. make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykidsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheesecakemama
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
The name suits it right, but OMGosh.. its so good. I did have to make one change which will just put this over the "top" next time. I did not realize that we had no bacon. I used real bacon bits and just added it to the burger mix. I used Dave's BBQ Sauce from this site because I was out too. I dont have a grill, I did these in my "iron skillet". I also put the slice of pineapple in the skillet just to heat and warm, that was the only thing I did not think would be good was the cold pineapple on the burger. You want to crip your bun. I used homemade hamburger buns from this site too.. When you make these the meal is "all about the BURGER"... Thank you for the recipe.. great job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
These had a nice taste, but they wouldn't stick together. My husband tried to cook them on the grill like the recipe said, but when he tried to flip the first one it fell apart. He ended up bringing them in and I finished cooking them on the stove, but they still were pretty hard to flip and get on the buns without them falling to pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Good, I love grilled pineapple and this was delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
DELICIOUS!!!! First I halved the recipe. Okay, now I am very familiar with what I like, so when preparing the meat I added a little Adobo and garlic powder. I didn't have hawaiian barbecue sauce, so I used original jack daniels bbq sauce mixed with some pineapple juice from the canned pineapple slices (I used the directed amount in the burger and set some aside for the buns). We use microwavable bacon, so I cooked the burgers with the bacon in the pan next to the burgers then topped the burgers with the bacon and cheese. These burgers have it all, the juiciness, crunchiness, sweet and salty, a great burger and a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
a great spin on an old classic, definatly worth making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These are really good! I dont have a grill so I broiled mine. They fell apart a bit, but not too bad. Im sure they'd be even better grilled! Definitely a keeper! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
That was awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WOW ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I really liked these and I wish I could give more stars. But, while these burgers were tasty, I do not think they were worth the time and cost. First of all, they did not stay together well at all. Second, it cost a fortune for all the ingredients. Third, I halved the recipe, and I got seven burgers and the original yield of the recipe is eight, and they were HUGE! We were eating them for three days (they cost to much not to finish them). And while I enjoyed them, they were really heavy and not something I would want to eat every day. Not reccomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I like the general idea of this burger, but we changed a few things... first, I halved the reciped and used ground turkey instead of beef. Also, i ommitted the monterrey jack and bbq sauce and instead used teryaki sauce. Then, instead of french fried onions, we used grilled onions. They were delicious!!!! We loved the way the pineapple tasted with the bacon and teryaki... it was a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejnlu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States