Hawaiian Belly Buster Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
These are so tasty! The first time we made them we forgot to mix in the cheese- still great! Any pieces that fell off were shoved right back on the bun! IT'S a burger! Messy and delicious. The second time we used a grill basket and just turned then all together on the grill. No problem at all. Nobody wants us to come to the BBQ unless we bring these with us. I have shared this recipe many times. People think your recipe is the tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
First of all, forget healthy. Second, it's kind of expensive to make. Third, it's well worth it if you don't feel too guilty the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I gave this recipe three stars just because the basic idea is great but mixing the bbq sauce in and not adding a little panko crumbs guarantees that the burgers will fall apart. This is the way we do it; put the meat in a bowl and add about 1/4 cup of chopped onion, about 1/2 cup bbq sauce, and some panko crumbs and lightly mix until the meat and additions are fully mixed together. Do not handle the meat roughly; use just your fingers and don't squeeze the ingredients too much, that makes a compact, tough burger. Use sliced fresh pineapple, peel, slice, grill, and then remove the core with a small paring knife, also use Kings Hawaiian sandwich rolls if you can find them. We also make a wasabi/honey mayo to go on the burgers. The honey helps with the bitterness of the wasabi powder that we mix into the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Loved these! I only used two pounds on ground beef and they were still huge! I had no problem with them falling apart. We used Sweet Baby Rays Sweet and Spicy bbq sauce. I did add some extra sauce to the burger! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These were excellent-YUMMY!!! I did not refrigerate- no time. I did not grill the bun or pineapple. I actually put the burgers on a broiler pan in oven for about 10 minutes on each side. This was a last minute throw together but worked GREAT. EVERYONE loved them. I will plan to create exactly next time just to see if they can get any better. Thanks Steve
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inuyasha211
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
these were so good, i had no problem with them not sticking together on the grill, i used budweiser bbq sauce, they came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inuyasha211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Yuba City, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
We LOVED these! I made them exactly as written except for just cooking the bacon seperately and putting it on the burger after (I never have good luck w/ wrapping the bacon around, lol). I had no trouble with them falling apart or anything. I served them on toasted Hawaiin Burger Buns. This recipe is a definate keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I hate to rate my own recipe, but I felt I needed to post some extra info about this burger for people. I cannot stress enough how important it is to properly form your patties. All the air MUST be out which takes a little time, otherwise they will fall apart. I never have any problems with them falling apart, but I cook a lot of burgers. I also would just like to repeat that the BBQ sauce used in this recipe is very thick. Thick BBQ sauce is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I wish zero stars was an option! They looked and smelled awesome until they hit the grill, at which point they fell right through it! I changed absolutely nothing in the recipe - I followed it to the T!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I like the general idea of this burger, but we changed a few things... first, I halved the reciped and used ground turkey instead of beef. Also, i ommitted the monterrey jack and bbq sauce and instead used teryaki sauce. Then, instead of french fried onions, we used grilled onions. They were delicious!!!! We loved the way the pineapple tasted with the bacon and teryaki... it was a hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejnlu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States