Hawaiian Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
love this recipe!! A household favorite!! is always requested by my husband and our friends. we like it sweet so I add a little extra brown sugar to the mixture, and also sprinkle brown sugar all over the top once it is in the casserole dish, this carmelizes on top. so happy to have found this recipe, even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was very good. Most of my family liked it. Due to renal disease I can't have beans so I switched out the beans for chopped cabbage. Worked beautifuly! I did omit the added sugar but used all the pineapple juice. Sweet, but not too much so. Try it with soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Malyssa
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This casserole has such a unique and wonderful flavor. I used dark and light kidney beans for more color, ground turkey instead of beef, and quinoa instead of rice. Left everything else the same - my 4 year old and I have been VERY happy with the results twice now. I call it "Hawaiian Chili":)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made this last night and it was amazing! The only changes were I added an extra can of beans, used spicy mustard (didn't have ground on hand) and mixed the whole thing in the same iron skillet I fried the onions and beef in. It was super easy to just pop that into the oven that way. Even my 4 year old, super picky eater ate it up. It was NOT too sweet at all. It was amazing. We served it over brown rice. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This turned out really delicious for me. Following the advice of the other reviewers, I drained most of the pineapple juice, though I did leave a little. The other thing I changed was I subbed out half the ketchup for Frank's Red Hot "Thick" sauce. I was trying to add some spice, but the end result wasn't really spicy at all. It did however add an AMAZING flavor, so I will definitely make it again (with the hot sauce). I think bacon would be a great add to this recipes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Used the crushed pineapples and omited some of the syrup. Very good over cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
It turned out better than I expected! Very Good! The whole family loved it. It has become a new favorite. It covers the whole spectrum of the taste palate... sweet, sour, bitter and salty and umami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chuck_turnblad@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
it was very tasty. my beans were a bit dry tho. I served it over rice to soak up some of the juices. I loved the pineapple in it. it was very easy to make and good enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I was really disappointed with this recipe. Even with the unusual combination of ingredients, I had high hopes due to the great reviews. No one in my family liked this. But...I think that's because it was very, very sweet. The best way to describe it is like a sweet and sour chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Santa Maria Grilled Tri-Tip Beef

See how to make classic California-style barbecued tri-tip.

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States