Hawaiian Banana Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This bread is simply fabulous! Sent a loaf to my husband's work and they drooled all over it. I followed all of the directions except I used pecans instead of walnuts and added 1/2 teaspoon extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Raley Sadler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Very tasty and easy to make. I made it a little healthier with some modifications though. My modifications: 2 cups all-purpose plus 1 cup whole wheat flour, instead of 3 cups regular flour 1 cup sugar instead of 2 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup pineapple juice instead of 1 cup oil chopped instead of crushed pineapple almonds instead of walnuts fresh strawberries instead of marashino cherries Turned out really well, PLENTY sweet and moist despite reduced sugar and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Hazler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I crave this bread! I ditch the cherries & coconut and use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I don't think you can have too much pineapple. Top it off with cream cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
When I made this I omitted the cherries and replaced the walnuts with sliced almonds. Also, works much better as muffins. My kids and co-workers love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Made the recipe this morning for the first time and it won't be the last. Very flavorful and moist. Can't wait to share this with my friends and family. I was able to get 2 nice size loaves out of this recipe. I may have to hide the second. cook'n'sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
My mother in law had made a few different recipes over the years. None made a huge impression but it was nice to have something a little different than banana bread and also could be festive reminding me of fruit cake. I don't like fruit cake and the other Hawaiian bread recipes were a little dry. This recipe is the best! It is so most and it can be left out in front of me. It's so good I have a hard time sharing. Good job and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I am very picky let me tell you the best I have ever. Had amazing 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
To my husband and myself this one was a waste of ingredients. We got nothing out of it other than the taste of banana bread and nuts. Followed the recipe except for the cherries and I made my own crumb topping with a little margerine, sugar, nuts and coconut. If it weren't for the topping I added it wouldn't be anything more than banana bread. Couldn't taste coconut, or pineanpple at all. Maybe switching the vanilla to coconut extract would help. Don't know, but not worth the try for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was really really good. I didn't have the coconut and I only used half the maraschino cherries, otherwise I made it exactly as written. I will definitely make again, it was moist but not too moist. It was sweet but not too sweet.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
My 17 yr old daughter made this and entered it at the county fair...and got first place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States