Hasty Chocolate Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I used the exact ingredients portion of this recipe and cooked it on the stovetop... what a treat! The texture was perfect (not lumpy at all, even though I used only a wooden spoon, not a whisk), and the cocoa-sugar ratio is perfect; not too sweet with a rich, chocolately flavor. Even without making it in the microwave this was super fast. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lappeenranta, Etelä-Karjala, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Wow! Over the past several weeks I've tried several pudding recipes from this site, including Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding. That is a stovetop recipe, but my family thought this one was better, with more of a cooked rather than instant pudding taste to it. I followed others advice and whisked in a tablespoon of butter with the vanilla at the end. I put it back in the microwave for 3 one minute intervals before it was done. I debated on sticking it back in a fourth time, as it was still not as thick as I thought it should be. While deciding, I whisked it another minute ( I'd been whisking for the minimum 2 minutes after each minute of cooking). During that time it started to thicken up. I'm glad I stopped cooking when I did, as it was super thick by the time I was ladeling it into the last of the four individual custard cups. I think if I had cooked it longer it would have cooled to be near solid. So when in doubt, whisk for the full four minutes before cooking an additional minute. The lickings from the empty cooking bowl were so delicious, I hope this won't be eaten before dinner tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
What a great and easy recipe! My fellow cooks...has anyone added a dash of salt to this? I did and it made it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this recipe on a stove top, and it turned out beautifully... with only a few changes. One time I made this, it turned out extremely lumpy, almost threw it. That was my fault. When making this recipe, remember to mix the cornstarch and cocoa into the sugar, and add to the milk slowly while whisking. Otherwise, it will be runny, and have hard lumps of cornstarch and cocoa. :( I love dark chocolate, but there was a bit too much chocolate for me. The second time I made this, I used less cocoa. (maybe around 1/4 cup) I loved it. Another change I made was to add a bit more sugar. (1/2 cup + 2 to 4 extra spoonfuls) Someone mentioned adding butter for the texture. I added 2 Tablespoons, and I loved the texture. It was smooth, and hardened into a sort of custard when cooled. 4 servings, what a joke! I ate half in one sitting. This stuff is good! This recipe turns out just like store bought pudding, except for a wonderful chocolate taste, and just a hint of sweetness. Only giving 4 stars because I happened to change the original so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Very disappointed. I followed this recipe and for some reason I didn't get pudding I got water!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Easy, yummy....wish I had some whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Amazing! SO easy & delicious! I couldn't stop eating it warm, waiting for it to cool enough to cover & put in fridge. I just now tasted it after it's been in fridge all night and still love it. I used 12oz canned goats milk (undiluted)+ 4oz water. I messed up by adding vanilla at the same time as the milk, but that didn't seem to hurt the flavor. This is so much easier than standing over the stove & making egg type custards and I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is AMAZING!!!!! I was a little skeptical about heating it in the microwave, but it turned out awesome! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I will never have to buy a chocolate pudding mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Just made it and it turned out great. I didn't see the corn starch adjustment but it turned out fine using teaspoons. And I like my pudding while it's still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 675) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chia Chocolate Pudding

See how chia seeds make a yummy, healthier chocolate pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States