Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I've made these from a recipe in my trusty Better Homes & Gardens cookbook with the plaid cover. They come out amazing and are sooo tasty. One additional tip: I find it easier to place the handle of a wooden spoon on either side of the potatoes when slicing them to prevent the knife from going too far down. Much easier than using the bowl of a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
These potatoes were different and really delicious. I used olive oil instead of butter, turned the potatoes over for about five minutes to crisp up the tops and once nicely browned, I flipped them again, added quite a bit of fresh bread crumbs which I had seasoned with garlic and onion powders, Italian seasonings, black pepper and lots of parm. Everyone loved these. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
BIG fan of these! They weren't difficult to make at all, and took no more time (less, actually) than baking a potato in the oven or on the grill. I left the skins on mine for the nutrients and set in a wooden spoon to cut (it took me a few cuts to get the hang of it). I skipped the butter and just drizzled w/a little EVOO. For the second part, I topped w/a mixture of bread crumbs (panko would be even better!), parm, garlic salt, crushed red pepper, and chives). I'm not a huge potato fan (unless they are deep fried, of course), but I really like these. These will be a potato staple at the LTH house! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
We loved the presentation of these potatoes, and the next time I make them I'll add more seasonings to the butter (I used a mixture of olive oil and butter). I used minced garlic, but it mostly just fell to the bottom of the pan, so next time I'll use garlic salt in the butter. I used panko, but I think seasoned Italian breadcrumbs would make a better choice. Nice to have these to add to the rotation of potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
These were super! I also turned them over and let them brown on the top. Also, I added way more bread crumbs than recommended. I spread the slices apart to make sure crumbs were in there also. I also added some garlic powder. My husband loved these. i will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACKLEY420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
I have been making these for years, the presentation is wonderful, as for taste, any spices can be used, to change the flavor, from plain and simple to very spicy, its all in personal taste. 5 stars. Well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
These were unique, good tasting potatoes. I left my potatoes unpeeled to keep the vitamins, and they were still good. Very impressive look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I was intriqued by the concept but wasn't very impressed with the outcome. As others have noted these were on the dry side, and I'm not sure I'm so fond of bread crumbs and Romano cheese on potatoes. Might consider trying these again without peeling the potatoes, drizzling them with butter and some herbs or seasoning, covering them with foil until nearly done, then uncovering them at the end of the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Does anyone besides me have issues with rating a recipe lower JUST because you altered it to your taste? Come on, people. This is a great recipe! If I decide to use olive oil instead of butter, add herbs and use low fat cheddar, it's still a great recipe, just my version of it. Thanks for this awesome recipe. I'm sure I will come up with other versions, because this is a keeper. Grilled mushrooms might be nice. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I thought that these were excellent. I love potatoes but usually don't care for baked potatoes all that much. And I think that they were very simple and quick to prepare, aside from the baking time, but that is to be expected with any type of baked potato. I was generous with brushing on the melted butter, since I didn't have Romano cheese, and sprinkled the potatoes with a little dill along with the salt and pepper. Even the leftovers were divine! Thank you, POMPIER850!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States