Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I liked this idea and technique a lot, but I substituted olive oil for butter. I will make this again, except I'll spread apart the slices as much as possible before adding the breadcrumb topping, for better penetration of the olive oil and seasoning into the potato. I think I'll also try some infused olive oils, such as garlic or Italian seasoning infused olive oil. I suspect this will become my go-to baked potato recipe once I tweak to just my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Terrific recipe! So delicious and quick and easy. Will make it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGumanoid
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great preso for a baked potato-come on you have to agree! I made these to make sure my kids ate something for dinner and as predicted, they liked it. I don't know if I'd bake a plain potato again after this. Now for what I've changed...broiled for 3 minutes, just to really toast up the top. I used less than 1 tbsp of bread crumb per ten potatoes. I didn't have the cheese so I didn't add it. Good simple stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
These were different that the standard baked potato.... and tasted good if they were eaten with sour cream or butter because the centers seemed a little hard and dry... pretty good flavor... maybe next time I will bake longer to soften the inside or cover my baking dish for the first half an hour....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
My mom has been making these for as long as I can remember....and I've made them many, many times as well. We call them armadillos in our house! :-) I add a little garlic salt to the butter, and we are very liberal with the grated parm. We also serve with sour cream.....because it makes everything better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent dish, made like Recipe and enjoyed by everyone even picky kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mam5016
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I left the skins on and precooked the potatoes in the microwave for about 5 min before sliceing them. This cut back on oven time a lot. Also added a little sprinkle of garlic to each potato and broiled for the last min or two to get a nice brown crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These are pretty good! Great change from plain baked potatoes :) Definitely use a spoon to restrict yourself from cutting all the way thru the potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
These were fantastic! I did use white cheddar in place of romano, but they still came out great. I saved a little time by microwaving the potatoes for 5 min each (after slicing) to cook them before placing them in the oven with the other ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy VanHook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I thought these were excellent! Made as written. I only added sour cream when we ate them. Super yummy, and very easy to prepare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hasselback Potatoes

Swedish version of baked potatoes, this is the ultimate spud: tender and crisp.

Muffin Tin Potatoes Gratin

Quick and easy individual au gratin potatoes prepared in a muffin tin.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States