Hasselback Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Probably needed to bake for at least 20 minutes longer than stated in the recipe. Seemed a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
While I concede that the taste may not be exactly 5 stars, the presentation & ease, along with the simple ingredient list make this a 5 star recipe, to me. I'll probably add more cheese & bread crumbs next time, and probably some garlic (mmm!) but as written this is still a very tasty, very impressive recipe. It took me a couple potatoes to get the hang of the cutting right, but I attribute that mostly to the fact that I used small potatoes. Give this a try if you're looking for a side dish that will impress company. One thing to note: When you put them in the oven, they won't look impressive. But, while cooking, they split open & make the pretty spaces in between the slices that you see in the pictures. Don't be worried if you don't see those before cooking! Another thing to improve the flavor: When serving, use a utensil that allows you to scrape up some of the " butter-cheese-goo" in the bottom of the pan to serve underneath the potato. It improves the flavor without compromising the appearance :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We didn't like these they turned out very dry and hardly no flavor. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I got my version from my grandmother (jag ar Svenksa), and our version didn't contain cheese. But we do slice the potatoes and butter them up and breadcrumb them to death and I make hasselbacks for every major holiday now! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by odetobeauty
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These turned out really fantastic! They look harder to make then they really are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odetobeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These potatoes were delicious! I didn't have romano cheese so I used shredded cheddar instead. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Really yummy potatoes. I used Italian Style Panko crumbs for the bread crumbs and will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
If you need a potato dish to dress up your dinner plate, these potatoes looked great right out of the oven. But they tasted exactly like a baked potato with butter, salt and pepper ought to taste. I guess I was hoping for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Great change from ordinary potatoes, broiled at the end to get a real crisp top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States