Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Everyone seems to like this one. We have had a similar recipe in our family for years with the following changes: increase the butter by adding 1/2 cup of melted butter to the potato mixture and 1/4 cup melted butter mixed with the cornflake topping; 1 can of cream of mushroom soup (instead of chicken); 8 oz cheese; one small diced onion (instead of flakes) and 2 cups of crushed cornflakes for topping. The rest is the same although I usually bake it closer to an hour. I know the fat content just more than quadrupled but it's soooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This turned out really good, I made a few changes to the recipe, it's just my nature. I did 1 can of cream of mushroom, 1 can of cream of chicken, I diced up 1/4 of an onion, upped the cheese to 8oz, and upped the butter to 4tbl. I also added 4tbl of melted butter to the cornflakes. I didn't crush the flakes, and added roughly 2 cups of cornflakes with the melted butter mixed in. Turned out great, and golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Use real onion 1/2 to 1 c diced and sauted in small amount of oil or butter until transparent (quantity depends on how much you like onions, I like a lot and I also add a clove of crushed garlic to the onions in the last 2 minutes of sauteing.) The recipe needs a lot more cheese than that in my opinion, I put in at least a cup and a half (I like cojack best.)Also I like this best with chopped ham added. When I make it my way it gets raves at our church breakfast potlucks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Excellent casserole. I added some fried crispy bacon and it was fantastic. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Sometimes I make this and it is awesome. Sometimes I make it and it tastes like feet. I don't know what I do wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was delicious! I did tweak based on reviews though of it beling not cheesy enough and/or too dry. Here's what I did: * full 2 c. cheese in mix * used only 3/4 pkg of hashbrowns * used one cr. chicken soup and one cr. celery * added some 1/2 & 1/2 to mixture * used parmesean bread crumbs instead of cornflakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
I love this recipe. I was looking for a hashbrown casserole recipe for Thanksgiving and found this one. I am so glad I did. It was wonderful. It was very easy and tasted just like the ones my aunts used to make. I used a chopped onion instead of dry onion. I think it gave it a real kick. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This recipe is very good, although I left out the butter and use the Cream of Chicken Healthy Campbell's soups. I have used a recipe like this over the years and I brown a pound of gound chuck, 1/2 a green pepper and 1/2 of an onion. We call it cheeseburger hashbrown casserole. We have also added polish sausage in the past instead of the hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Great recipe. I also, like many others added more cheese. I also split the recipe for just my husband and me. I added half a pack of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing mix. Instead of the cornflakes, I crushed up cheese and garlic croutons. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Very good and easy! Reminds me of the one at Cracker Barrel. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States