Hashbrown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I made this for a group of friends coming over for dinner and for father's day (the next day). So I doubled the recipe, and made two casseroles at once. My friends and my family all loved it and asked for the recipe afterwards. I made a few changes to it: instead of onion flakes, I minced real onions and sauteed them until golden brown (about 1 large onion for two recipes). I also substituted the sour cream for greek yogurt (plain). The consistency is exactly the same, the flavour is very close, but greek yogurt is WAY healthier. Also, instead of corn flakes I used Panko bread crumbs on top. It turned out delicious, and I'm definitely doing this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
@ Guza... The problem you are having with it tasting like feet at times could be the potatoes you are using. The recipe calls for the hashbrowns to be thawed but if they are left out or in the refrigerator too long they spoil quickly when not cooked. Just a thought...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Good. Used homemade hashbrown - prefer store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homedale, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Very easy and VERY good! I add ham and peas. I substitute 2 cups fat free Greek yogurt (more than the sour cream to accommodate for the extra ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very good but needs salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I've made this dish for years, with only minor changes. First, instead of cream of chicken I use cream of potato or cream of broccoli. I use fresh onion instead of the dried, and for the best topping-instead of crushed cereal, I use crushed potato chips mixed with crushed fried onions. You can also make this in a crockpot easily, mix all ingredients except for topping, and cook on low for 3-4 hours (potatoes will come out softer this way) stirring every hour, and then every 20 minutes for the last hour. I like to do this on hectic holidays when I can't fit another pan in the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was an excellent reciepe. I have made one similar before however I add more cheese, I do one can of cr. chicken and one of cr. mushroom. I also at a can of rotel and velveta. I also use ground hamburger meat to it. It's almost like mexican chicken but with beef and hashbrowns. My kids love it this way and it has been a big hit at pot luck dinners and such. It's a regualar at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Everyone in THIS house loved this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is very good. You can change to soot your taste, but it just fine the way it is. We had it for christmas, and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I use a real onion. This is part of our Christmas dinner served with ham . Always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hashbrown Casserole

This hearty casserole is cheesy and filling, perfect for brunch.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States