Hashbrown Breakfast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this based on rating, but unfortunately I did not read the actual reviews before making it because I needed something put together quickly. I wish I HAD read the reviews! The hash browns really do need to be cooked ahead of time. They were soggy and not a great texture and made the casserole runny. And the ham was WAY too much. I put in less than was called for and I still feel like I'm just eating ham :/ And I agree with others that the milk to egg ratio is way off. Also, mine took almost 2 hours to cook fully! Not good since I was in a hurry. I would suggest making this in a 9x13 to speed things up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was good as is. I like to make the recipes as instructed first and then tweak a little. Maybe less sour cream and more egg. Possibly egg beaters and low fat sour cream and cheese for a lighter version. The peppers were still crunchy for my taste, so I may saute them a little to soften them up. All and all its a good dish and the girls enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelsmom7601

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I halved the recipe and skipped the pico de gallo and cheese on top. I also subbed a pack of cooked bacon and handful of halved cherry tomatoes for the ham and baked 30 mins covered and 30 mins uncovered. It was really good and my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittanne
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made this today for a bridal shower and all the ladies loved it! I stuck with the ham because I knew sausage was also being served. I prepped everything the night before which made throwing it together a breeze. Since some mentioned it was a bit bland I was heavy handed in my measurement of the seasonings. I would totally make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasted Party Mix
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I work in a resident rehab I made this recipe for 60 ppl.. It's their favorite breakfast casserole.. Serve w tortillas and toppings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
recipe is easy, but i made mine with real fresh potatoes, string not shredded, extra eggs, extra cheese, and with breakfast sausage, fresh onions, and kielbasa. no sour cream needed in my opinion. you can play with the fillers and all in all, i rate it a 4 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
yeah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I used this recipe as a base and made it with veggie sausage since my husband does not eat ham. I didn't have onion powder, so I substituted dried minced onions and then used a combination of pepper jack and mozzarella in the casserole with sharp cheddar on top. Really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Billingsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This is an amazing recipe. I even made it "vegetarian" once by adding seasoned black beans instead of the meat and it was still pretty awesome. However, I can't give this recipe 5 stars as is due to the problem with too much milk...like others' comments 3/4 C would be more appropriate along with a tad less oregano. Other than that, spot on for what I was looking for in a crowd pleaser bfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Easy to make, easy to make substitutions with meats, veggies on hand. Thank you! Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States