Hashbrown Breakfast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made a couple small changes, only due to what I had on hand. I used cooked breakfast sausage instead of ham, diced red pepper instead of green, I omitted the extra salt and I added a teaspoon each of garlic and onion powder as well as a shake of Frank's Hot Sauce. I made these into little handheld "muffins". I just sprayed my muffin tin with non-stick spray and poured 1/4 cup's worth into each sprayed muffin tin. 350* for a half hour and it was ready to go. I made whole wheat toast to go with and it was a very hearty breakfast. All I tasted was sour cream but the boys and husband thought this was really good, though my husband did think that it was a little bland. If this hadn't been served with salsa, there wouldn't be a whole lot of flavor to this meal. Even with that said, there's almost nothing leftover, they've eaten pretty much all of it. Next time, I'll try to throw in more vegetables (like fresh onion, garlic, spinach and shredded zucchini) and maybe a can of mild diced green chilies. I think I could cut back on the sour cream a bit and maybe add more eggs, as that is a lot of sour cream. For me, that's really all I could taste, aside from the cheese. I like the potential of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made it this morning for Easter brunch. Everyone loved it. I used turkey sausage instead of ham and reduced the milk to 3/4 c. Also added chopped green onion. Recipe came out firm. I would not use so much oregano next time either. Personal taste. All and all would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Being from New Mexico we add green chili to most everything. I added 1/2c HOT fresh cut up green chili to potato mixture (can use can or jar), 1 small jalapeno chili pepper (seeded & chopped fine), 1t red pepper flakes, 1/2t dry cumin, 1T jar garlic, 1/4c finely chopped yellow onions. After fully cooked, we garnished with chopped fresh cilantro leaves and green onions. My family's favorite Sunday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
LOVED this recipe. So easy, so flavorful. I had to use the cubed hash browns since my store didn't have the shredded. I also added a small package of cut-up sausage links.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very good! I used shredded potatoes and left out the oregano. My potatoes were a bit crunchy but I see why now...I only cooked for 30 minutes instead of the 45 recommended. Oops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feadhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Big hit with all 20 family members at Easter brunch. Will definitely make again! Used fat free cheese and sour cream, family didn't even know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This is a great recipe, and really convenient, because you don't have to lei it to sit overnight, you can just throw it together and put it in the oven. I use the southwestern style hash browns that come already thawed, that way you don't have to add the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by igbystooge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This recipe was was pretty good, but beware of some watery portions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
AMAZING and EASY!! Can you ask for anything more?? I make more than I need and then freeze the extra in pieces for a fast microwave breakfast on those mornings that just need more than cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
MMMMM! Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States