Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish. I did not thaw the hash browns as others suggested, but it took longer to cook them than stated, about 35 minutes, then I added the remaining ingredients. I also used four eggs; two just didn't seem like enough. This would be good with mushrooms, peppers, etc., very forgiving. So good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
i must say the apperance of this dish was lacking, but the flavor was great! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought the name on this was really misleading! It tastes like hashbrowns with some ham and cheese on top. I thought 2 eggs didn't seem like very much. I was afraid of it cooking over in my pie pan so I just put in a round cake pan with taller sides and sprayed it well with non-stick cooking spray. For some reason it took twice as long for the hashbrowns to brown and for the final dish to be done doubling the total cooking time. I did use all low-fat dairy products, but I do that all the time. Overall, It is not bad, other than a tad dry, just something more for breakfast. I had made it for dinner expecting some kind of a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used the Simply Potatoes (Southwest Style) hash browns because we LOVE them. Also, added a few more eggs. Very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I found this recipe to be bland. Granted, I omitted the onions b/c one of my guests couldn't tolerate them, but I otherwise followed it pretty closely. I did extend the cooking time of the hash browns in hopes of getting a crispy crust with all that butter. The edges did crisp but that's it (so the butter could probably be reduced without effect). I recommend following others' guidance and frying the hash browns first before pressing into pan to add some texture, and make sure you season well with salt and pepper during cooking. The quiche doesn't puff much during cooking, so I'd say this feeds 3-4 unless it's one component of several at a meal. If I make this again, I'll definitely add more seasoning to both the hash browns and the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I absolutely love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaDa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Love this! I have used ham, bacon and sausage and it always turns out! I usually add a couple more eggs though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
My husband liked it enough because I substituted the ham for pork suasage. But I didn't think that eggs rose enough for time listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This is really good...I added a couple more eggs and cooked it longer..Made this again and added 7 eggs total. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This my go-to weekend brunch casserole. I use a whole bag of a 2# bag of hash browns and put it in a 8x10 glass pan. I put drizzle the 1/3 c. melted butter and mix in 2 tbsp. dried onion. Bake for 20 min. Mix 6 eggs w/1 cup of 1/2 & 1/2 cream and salt/pepper. Pour over the hash browns and top with cheese. I vary the cheeses from cheddar/MonterreyJack/Parmesan blend, etc. It if a nice basic recipe and you can put in colored peppers or fresh chives. Bake 350 for 25-30 minutes. This freezes well also. I put in individual servings and take them out for quick breakfast. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States