Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I just toss 2 of these in the oven I am writing this now because I am sure with all the standard yummy ingredients. I am sure it will taste great. I used 5 eggs, one with asparagus, green onions white cheddar cheese & smoked ham, s&p, garlic salt the other one was the same but with no asparagus and added mushrooms. Drizzled 2 tbl. Melted butter on the fresh rinsed dried potatoes and prebaked it for 25 to 30 min. still could have been longer. I am guessing though the egg mixture is supposed to leek in to the bottom of the dish I could find no way to prevent this and I tried really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is very good recipie,but I made a few changes. To make it easy first I put 7 pre formed hashbrown patties in the bottom of a 13''x 9'' pan pour the melted butter on top of the patties season then bake at 425 for 20 miniutes. Then pre cook 8 bacon slices ,(not crispy) put 4 eggs and a cup of milk, mix well ,after the hashbrowns are out of the oven lay the bacon strips on the hash browns,then layer with sliced onion,then put shredded cheese then pour the egg mixture on top and bakefor 25 mins at 350.Its sooooo good you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I'm a vegetarian so I omitted the ham, but I added lots of different veggies, which my meat-eating husband didn't mind. I thawed frozen hash browns and used paper towels to press out the moisture. I then tossed them with seasoning salt before pressing into the pie plate. I'll try using extra hash browns next time to create a thicker crust. I used a pastry brush to dab the melted butter on for even coating, but I did use less than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American_in_Saudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very good, our grandmother said it was the best quiche she ever had. We all ate the whole thing, took a little longer than expected to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
We really likes this but 2 eggs is not enough!!! I increased it to 3 eggs and next time I will use at least 4. I made this replacing the ham with some turkey sausage, adding roasted red pepper, smoked paprika and replaced half of the milk with sour cream. I didn't use the butter at all, just sprayed the hashbrowns with some pam to help them brown. Also used Emily's famous hash browns (from this site). This is an awesome recipe idea, but it need's WAY more than 2 eggs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
It was too much potato. I prefer the traditional crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
When my family lets me know when something is awesome, I listen. I made a few adjustments--1/4 c. buter, used Moby/Jack Cheese, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of Crema Mexicana Grade A Table Cream (this beats 1/2 and 1/2). Also, Idid not add salt because of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roscoe, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I PEELED POTATOES AND SHREDDED THEM INSTEAD OF USING FROZEN HASHBROWNS.I BUTTERED THE BOTTOM OF THE PIE DISH AND THEN DRIZZLED MELTED BUTTER OVER THE POTATOES. IT TOOK ABOUT 35 MINUTES TO BROWN THEM. I USED 6 EGGS.IT WAS PERFECT! SO DELICIOUS.THANKS FOR A GREAT RECIPE!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was good. We would like the "crust" to be more crisp. Next time I will cook the hash browns longer before adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Wonderful tasting, IF you can get passed the guilt! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States