Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly using the 4th top reviewers suggestions with fresh potatoes. Added 1/4 tsp salt to the eggs. Made 2 quiches for our family but need to make 3 as our family of 7 completely finished off the two quiches in a sitting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The flavor is good. My only complaint is that it's missing veg. On the second go around, I added a cup of defrosted spinach with the excess water squeezed out and then doubled the egg and milk quantities. I also used a pinch of nutmeg and eliminated the seasoning salt. I cut the butter quantity in half as well. I used a 9x9 baking dish to accommodate the changes. I would give the adjusted recipe another star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Had to use a dozen eggs and double the remaining ingredients. Baked in a large casserole pan and added dry mustard. Had to use onion powder to sneak it past the kids. Pretty tasty, but I'll definitely use WAY more seasonings next time along with o'brien hashbrowns. Otherwise, it would be way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have used this recipe many times, but with a few alterations and additions. I grate my own potatoes for the crust, instead of using store bought and I add 2 or 3 more eggs to make it fluffier. I also add vegetables such as broccoli, and green or red peppers. It's an awesome breakfast or dinner that goes great with garlic toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish. I did not thaw the hash browns as others suggested, but it took longer to cook them than stated, about 35 minutes, then I added the remaining ingredients. I also used four eggs; two just didn't seem like enough. This would be good with mushrooms, peppers, etc., very forgiving. So good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
i must say the apperance of this dish was lacking, but the flavor was great! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought the name on this was really misleading! It tastes like hashbrowns with some ham and cheese on top. I thought 2 eggs didn't seem like very much. I was afraid of it cooking over in my pie pan so I just put in a round cake pan with taller sides and sprayed it well with non-stick cooking spray. For some reason it took twice as long for the hashbrowns to brown and for the final dish to be done doubling the total cooking time. I did use all low-fat dairy products, but I do that all the time. Overall, It is not bad, other than a tad dry, just something more for breakfast. I had made it for dinner expecting some kind of a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I used the Simply Potatoes (Southwest Style) hash browns because we LOVE them. Also, added a few more eggs. Very good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I found this recipe to be bland. Granted, I omitted the onions b/c one of my guests couldn't tolerate them, but I otherwise followed it pretty closely. I did extend the cooking time of the hash browns in hopes of getting a crispy crust with all that butter. The edges did crisp but that's it (so the butter could probably be reduced without effect). I recommend following others' guidance and frying the hash browns first before pressing into pan to add some texture, and make sure you season well with salt and pepper during cooking. The quiche doesn't puff much during cooking, so I'd say this feeds 3-4 unless it's one component of several at a meal. If I make this again, I'll definitely add more seasoning to both the hash browns and the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I absolutely love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaDa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States