Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have tried it this way before but I find it better when instead of potato soup you use either cream of mushroom or chicken. Also a little more cheese and top it with some crushed cornflakes mixed with butter towards the end for an extra crunch. other than that not to much to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariessweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This tasted really bad unfortunately. We really couldn't eat this. There is way to much sour cream in this recipe. I even cut it down to 1 1/2 cups. I would cut the sour cream to 1 cup at the most. I had to melt some cheese slices into a serving to be able to eat it. It did help. Needs more cheese too. And the cream of potato soup sounds like a good idea but when you are eating it all of a sudden you get a very large chunk of potato which just is not a good thing. Sorry I just really did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a classic. The only thing I prefer is using cheddar cheese. I also found the Kashi flake cereal makes a healthier topping - since this dish is so loaded with calories! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow. I am amazed at the bad reviews. whenever I've made this everyone loved it. I just opt for the lighter versions of the creamy stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was not a good idea. My wife and I were going to use this Casserole as part of a pot luck dinner on christmas eve, since we never tryed it before we thought to make one for ourselfs. We both agreeded that it was to heavy with cream and we decided not to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Pretty good recipe I used a little bit of onion powder instead of chopped onions and only 1 cup of sour cream. I can't imagine using 2 cups of sour cream, it definitely would have been way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I was very surprised at the reviews also. My family really enjoyed this casserole. I did not deviate from the recipe and it turned out absolute marvelous. I will definite cook again. I think I will try the chicken soup next time just because others have recommend. We really enjoyed it and there was no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Suggest a little less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are cheesy delicious comfort food at its best. How can you go wrong with potatoes, cheese, sour cream and more cheese? I am not an onion fan so I left that out, and I used cheese soup to make it extra cheesy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Instead of 2 cans of soup, I only use 1 can. Also, I use cream of chicken or cream of mushroom. After I mix all ingredients, I take about 3 cups of corn flakes (crushed) and add a stick of melted butter and stir together and then spread on top of casserole. It gives it a crunchier texture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aud123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braidwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States