Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I have tried it this way before but I find it better when instead of potato soup you use either cream of mushroom or chicken. Also a little more cheese and top it with some crushed cornflakes mixed with butter towards the end for an extra crunch. other than that not to much to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ariessweetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphysboro, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow. I am amazed at the bad reviews. whenever I've made this everyone loved it. I just opt for the lighter versions of the creamy stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Pretty good recipe I used a little bit of onion powder instead of chopped onions and only 1 cup of sour cream. I can't imagine using 2 cups of sour cream, it definitely would have been way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was so easy to make and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
Not as cheesy as I like, but that's an easy fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Suggest a little less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was not a good idea. My wife and I were going to use this Casserole as part of a pot luck dinner on christmas eve, since we never tryed it before we thought to make one for ourselfs. We both agreeded that it was to heavy with cream and we decided not to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This tasted really bad unfortunately. We really couldn't eat this. There is way to much sour cream in this recipe. I even cut it down to 1 1/2 cups. I would cut the sour cream to 1 cup at the most. I had to melt some cheese slices into a serving to be able to eat it. It did help. Needs more cheese too. And the cream of potato soup sounds like a good idea but when you are eating it all of a sudden you get a very large chunk of potato which just is not a good thing. Sorry I just really did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a classic. The only thing I prefer is using cheddar cheese. I also found the Kashi flake cereal makes a healthier topping - since this dish is so loaded with calories! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States