Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I reccommend mixing everything but the hashbrowns first, then slowly stirring them in. Otherwise it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have been making this recipe since I got it at a potluck when I was 10 years old(my 1st recipe). I add a cup of velveeta with the cheddar and put crushed potato chips on top. I find using 1 can cream of celery and 1 cream of mushroom works alot better than the cream of potato, but that is personal preference. Also to those who say too much sour cream, please remember 1 container of sour cream is 2 cups unless you buy the little one(gave recipe to friend and she made the same mistake thought it meant 2 containers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is one of my husband's favourite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used a 20 oz. bag of hash browns with onion & peppers , so I cut the rest of the ingredients in half except for the sour cream, i used 1/2 cup, that was enough, I could really taste it, I don't like my food to taste sour.and topped it with crushed potato chips, next time I will try the mushroom soup, I think that would be more to my taste, it was not soupy at all, very thick & filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I like to combine ingredients the night before baking, allowing the potatoes to thaw and flavors to blend. I also double the amount of shredded cheese putting most of the additional cheese on top. I have also added bacon bits, and another time added a can of green chiles......both additions went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Edible but not for me. To much soup and sour cream. I think I will keep looking for something else or tweek this myself using organic veg broth and one light sour cream or at the least something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great! I used cream of mushroom soup (it's what I had in the pantry) and added a jalapeno for a little heat. Excellent. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are cheesy delicious comfort food at its best. How can you go wrong with potatoes, cheese, sour cream and more cheese? I am not an onion fan so I left that out, and I used cheese soup to make it extra cheesy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I was very surprised at the reviews also. My family really enjoyed this casserole. I did not deviate from the recipe and it turned out absolute marvelous. I will definite cook again. I think I will try the chicken soup next time just because others have recommend. We really enjoyed it and there was no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I agree that there may be too much sour cream if you are the type that prefers a dryer, less mushy casserole. I added half of each (diced) red, green, and yellow bell pepper, and onion. I doubled the parm cheese and kept everything else the same and it's still a little too mushy.. i'd go with half of the sour cream next time just to see if you can get a more cake-like casserole... it's still pretty dang tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States