Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Great for office gatherings, pot lucks, and family dinner. Always the first dish empty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I love this recipe. I made it for Easter breakfast and set my oven to automatically turn on so it could cook while we were at church. Well, I did something wrong in setting my oven because it never turned on. I put the covered casserole in the microwave on High for 20 minutes, then under the broiler on High for a few minutes to brown the top and it was perfect!! It met rave reviews! I think I will make it this way from now on. Thanks to my mistake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I do not know what else you could want from this recipe. It was great, not a spoonful left and only 5 people were eating it. This will be made again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My family and I loved it. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
These were very tasty. I followed the recipe as is and the whole family loved them. Great instead of mashed potatoes - or any for that matter. It makes a large cake dish worth, we had great leftovers for the next couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious for a family gathering. I made this for an Easter dinner and everyone loved it. I had 17 guests and doubled the recipe with a couple of changes. And let me tell you there wasn't much left! I read some reviews and followed these tips. I assembled it the night before and baked it first thing in the morning. I brought everything to room temp including the frozen hash browns. Mix the soup, onion, sour cream, pepper, and cheddar thoroughly before adding the hash browns. Used two 30 oz. bags plain frozen hash browns, 4 cans cream of potato soup, One 16 oz. and one 8 oz. sour cream, 1/2 cup chopped onion, 1/2 cup parm cheese, Two 8 oz. bars of sharp cheddar shredded (using most but, saving some for tops of both casseroles). pepper to taste. Greased two glass 9x13 dishes and divided mixture and topped with cheese. Baked both at 350 degrees for approx 1-1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a really easy, yummy recipe. i highly reccommend. The serving sizes suggested for this recipe are on the large side though. Almost what I would consider a double portion for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmilford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I made this the other night for my family. It's a great weeknight meal, just open, dump & stir. I agree, it has way too much sour cream. Next time I will try 1 cup sour cream and 1 cup whole milk. I think it will help make the dish creamier. I also used O'brien potatoes and a blend of cheese's. Spiced it up with garlc powder, onion powder and some crushed red pepper flakes. I'll update on my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Embellished to perfection! I made a few changes to this recipe and it turned out amazing and cooked faster. I substituted hashbrowns with tater tots! While the oven was preheating I put the tater tots in the dish and cooked them while I prepared remaining ingredients. I used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of chicken. Chopped one whole small to medium sized onion. Green scallions to taste about 1/6 cup. 6 strips of slightly undercooked bacon chopped. Used only one cup of sour cream, and increased the amount of Cheddar and Parm cheeses. GO LIGHT on the salt for this dish. I would suggest saving the salt and pepper till the dish gets to the table. While you assemble all the remaining ingredients your tater tots are getting cooked. Once all ingredients are combined in the large bowl (approx. 10-15 minutes for me) I added the warmed tater tots and stirred. Then transferred back in to the hot casserole dish and cooked at 400 for about 30 minutes until the top is golden. This casserole is delicious, I suggest also putting ketchup or salsa out to cut the richness. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Instead of 2 cans of soup, I only use 1 can. Also, I use cream of chicken or cream of mushroom. After I mix all ingredients, I take about 3 cups of corn flakes (crushed) and add a stick of melted butter and stir together and then spread on top of casserole. It gives it a crunchier texture. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aud123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braidwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States