Hash Brown Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Great recipe! I added 12 precooked (then cut up) turkey sausage patties to make it a meal. I used plain rice milk and Daiya Cheddar Cheese to make it dairy free. Lastly, I skipped the whole microwave process and simply baked it for 20 minutes, stirred it, baked it 15 more minutes. The whole family has declared it a winner so I know I'll be making this one again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLovesCoffee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I was looking for a gluten free hash brown casserole and stumbled across this one. Instead of broth I used a few tablespoons of sour cream and instead of garlic powder, minced garlic, cooked for about 50 minutes at 350. Pretty good :) Oh, and stirred it all up after adding the milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I took this a bit further and added diced green chilis and some chili powder along with chicken broth instead of the beef and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made for pot luck, many compliments. I did make it in a crock pot, added garlic and other seasonings as others suggested, and a can of undiluted french onion soup for the beef broth. Will definitely make again, loved that it didn't have cream of anything soup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
There was too much liquid, and it was rather bland. I think it could be tweaked to be better (less liquid, some fresh herbs), but as written, it's just okay. On the plus side, it wasn't made with a canned "cream of" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This was pretty good, and like others said, not heavy like others. It was not a big hit with my hubby or kids and they haven't asked for it again but I liked it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This recipe is a great breakfast recipe. It is quick & easy & very tasty. I did not do the microwave thing (There was NO WAY my dish was fitting into my microwave). I just mixed the cheese up real good with the hash browns & minced garlic (using my hands). I added a dash of cayenne and a LOT of cracked black pepper. I baked it for 25 minutes & then topped it with more cheese & baked it for 5 more minutes. It came out really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This one quickly became a favorite cheesy potato dish in our house. Love that it is broth based and can be tweaked to reduce fat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This is awesome! I added leftover cubed ham to this. I have a VERY picky eater who hates trying anything new, and if he does, he spits it out. He LOVED this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galynn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Not my favorite hashbrown recipe. I've had much better, Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States