Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I cut the recipe down A LOT and it was still AMAZING! The bag of hash browns I purchased was only 1 lb, the recipe calls for two but its only me and my two children (8 & 3 yrs old) so that was way too much. I used 1/2 a lb of hash browns, no butter at all - so i'd say its not necessary. Also i didn't have Corn Flakes on hand. I chopped onions very small, browned a pound of ground beef, added salt & pepper, 1/2 can of Cream of Chicken, about 4 tbsp of sour cream, and 1 cup of cheese. Mixed it all in a bowl, placed in dish, topped with more cheese (I love cheese!) , covered and baked for exactly 40min, then baked an extra 5 min uncovered! You can do so much with this recipe!!! Kids loved it as well as a guest I had over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is, hands down, one of my family's favorite recipes. It has become part of our Sunday brunch routine. The flavors work so well together, and it is extremely filling. The only changes that I have made to it are that I brown a pound of sausage, and I put the onion in with the sausage to soften it up. Instead of using cream of chicken soup, I use cream of mushroom. Because my family loves the crunchy topping, I also crush one more cup of cornflakes. This increases the 1/4 cup of melted butter to 3/8 of a cup or 6 tablespoons. Sometimes, I also like to put some French fried onions on top too. It's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I doubled all ingredients plus noted changes: used one cream of mush and one cream of chicken, used 1/2 yogurt with 1/2 sour cream, added 5 pieces of bacon crumbled and used 2 bags of southwestern style hash browns. Like others I added a little cheese to top, cooked it for 30 min covered then uncovered and topped with fried onions cooking 15+ mins more. I took it to a bbq. I've never received so many compliments on a dish before. It was fab!! Added note: leftovers topped with overeasy eggs the next day is the bomb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Good but it was way too much butter. I'll use only a little butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
More sour / tangy than other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Shred your own potatoes and soak them about an hour. Store bought hash browns didn't turn out well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I cut this recipe in half because there is only 2 of us- I mixed 2 tbsp melted butter, 1/2 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 tsp minced onions, 2 tsp hot sauce, 2 oz sour cream, 1 cup cheddar cheese and black pepper. Mix together first then added to 1 pkg simply potatoes diced with onion. Spread into casserole dish. Topping: mixed 1/2 cup bread crumbs and 1/4 cup broken up French fried onions, tossed with 2 tbsp melted butter and covered casserole. Baked for an hour and was delicious! Other than cutting recipe in half, the only changes/additions were I used minced onion, cut the sour cream, mushroom soup and omitted corn flakes using bread crumbs and fried onion mixture for topping because I didn't have corn flakes on hand. Also added hot sauce for a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Same recipe I have been using for years and always popular whether serving with pulled pork or ribs for lunch/dinner or serving at breakfast. If you don't have the corn flakes substitute with broken up Ritz or Townhouse crackers (not Saltines). Also, make sure hash browns are completely thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is ome of my go-to recipes - especially cor pot-lucks. Easy, adaptable and always delicious! I rarely remember to thhaw the hashbrowns so now put butter, soup, sour cream and chees, onione, s&p on the bottom of a well-sprayed 9x13 pan and pile the frozen hashbrowns on top. I then set my oven to 350 and pop the unstirred mixtuure into the oven to thaw the hashbrwons while the oven heats. My butter is typically hard so this serves to melt it as well. When my oven sounds that it has reached 350, I take the casserole out, stir and put back to cook for 45-60 minutes. Works a charm! Like other reviewers, I don't bother with the topping - I find it unnecessary and another fat addition. I reduce the the 1/2c of butter to justiver 1/4 c and use no-fat sour cream. Ive use all types of cheese in mixture in this casserole but find a sharp cheddar favorite. Cream of chicken, mushroom, celery have all been enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
i too like the cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken. i follow exact except i like to add crushed potato chips on top instead of cornflakes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Gregory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States