Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Made both as written and with a small change. I like the cream of mushroom soup better than the chicken. I also omit the topping, just because I never seem to have crushed cornflakes, and it is perfectly fine w/o. Here's a tip on how to get it to mix better. Make sure hash browns are thawed as per recipe instructions. Pour melted butter/margarine over the potatoes and mix. Then add the cheese and mix. Lastly add the rest of the ingredients. It seems to mix faster and better for me this way. It does need the full hour to cook or your onions will be crunchy. I usually divide this in half between 2 smaller casseroles, eat one for dinner and freeze the other. Thanks for the great recipe! Update: 15/02/07 - Tried the suggestion of putting french fried onions on top instead of the cornflakes - absolutely awesome! Don't put in at the start though...put in last 10-15 min and cook uncovered (watch as they burn easily), I sprinkled some extra cheese on top with the onions and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
947 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Very good with a few changes. You can use 1/4 cup of butter instead of the 1/2 cup. I baked it a full hour, I covered it for 45 minutes and uncovered for 15 so that the top gets crunchy. I put the corn flakes on top and drizzled the melted butter over them, saved washing another pan. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
What I love about this recipe is its versatility. I browned a pound of sausage with the onion and added it to the mixture. Also since I only had half a cup of cheddar cheese, I shredded an additional cup & a half of processed cheese. I used mushroom soup instead of chicken, and I didn't have cornflakes, so nothing but a sprinkle of parmesan cheese went on the top. I also left off the additional 1/4 cup melted butter, and since the processed cheese is so salty, I only used 1/4 teaspoon salt. It was a delicious main dish and would make an excellent breakfast casserole. Our family of 3 had generous portions and only ate half the casserole. My husband, who never likes leftovers and is not crazy about anything in a casserole, loves the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
The only thing that I do different is to used crushed French's onions to the topping. It adds just the right flavor. Edit. I started adding a small can of jalapenos to it. Adds a great kick and more grown up flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
My family loves this recipe...I have to make it for every holiday. I however do not saute my Corn Flakes. I have noticed that it really needs no butter what so ever. Due to cheese cooking out a great deal of oil. I now use Cambell soups new mushroom/cream of chicken soup....gives it a little twist. If you like potatoes and cheese your gonna love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This is a household favorite. I prefer to use the chunkier country style hashbrowns (chunks a little bigger than a pea) because they don't get as slimy as the shredded type. I like to thaw these chunkier potatoes in the oven until they are just warm, they cook perfectly even & hold the shape & texture better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hills, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a holiday favorite! I doubled the recipe and used 2 cups of cheddar cheese and 2 cups of grated parmesan cheese. I stuck with the cream of chicken soup as my grandma always had, but this recipe is so versatile that any cream soup will do which is nice. Everyone loves the cornflake topping, but again it's a matter of preference. This does take an hour in the oven even with the thawed hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Excellent! I used a little more cheese than called for and crushed potato chips instead of cornflakes (with no butter added) on top. I used reduced fat/healthy request soup, sour cream and cheese. I sauteed the onions in Pam before adding. A winner! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
This has been our family's "special occasion" side dish for years. I used cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of chicken. Can easily be made a day or two ahead of time by not adding the corn flakes until you are ready to cook. You can also save the step of sauting the corn flakes by just drizzling melted butter over the crushed flakes before cooking. Sure, it has a few calories - - but that's why we serve it for special occasions! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
This casserole is wonderful! I made no changes whatsoever and it turned out fantastic. It freezes great too- this actually sat in the freezer, forgotten after our baby's birth, for several months and it was still delicious after all that time. We especially loved the cornflakes on top. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States