Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Excellent, a great favorite for a group. I add potato chips to the top instead of corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Make as is, except I add in a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. Next time: Less onion, cook longer..closer to an hour topping of crushed ritz crackers. Be sure to add full amount of butter. Less shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Delish!! The only changes I made were to add a little splash of milk, and I didn't sautee the cornflakes. It was wonderful and I will make again and again. In the future, I will half the recipe to use as a side dish for our family of 4, it does make quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PregnantAndHungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
A recipes VERY similar to this has been in my family for YEARS. It was a major favorite of mine as a kid, to the point that the recipe card at my mom's house reads "Jennifer's Favorite Potatoes." :) Over the years I have done some tweaking and have a few tips for what I consider perfection. First, it is important that the hash browns are thawed as much as possible. (It's a great make ahead dish if they aren't thawed though. You can make it up and set in the fridge until ready to bake.) If you use shredded hash browns it's more important that they are thawed and I have found they even need a bit longer to bake. I mix the potatoes with 4 tsp dried onion (but fresh is fine too) and 2 cups shredded cheddar. I then melt 1 stick butter/margarine in the microwave. I mix in the chicken soup... it's a must to NOT use reduced-fat version... and one cup sour cream (you CAN get by with reduced fat here). I then add the soup mixture to the potatoes and mix well. Spread into a 9x13 dish. Sprinkle with corn flakes (some people like potato chips ?? ) and pour 1/2 stick melted butter over the top. Bake a FULL hour at 350. You will constantly get rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNG7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
awesome comfort food! i always make it sans cornflakes though as i don't like the crunchy top much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by handfulofrain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
If you like a more blended cheesy potato flavor over the potato chunks and cheese flavor, use shredded hashbrowns instead (same bag/amount size). Most of our guests prefer this smoother cheesier potato flavor and there is never any left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I halved the recipe since it was only 3 of us, and didn't want to have 1/2 of a can of soup lying around so I used the whole can (cream of celery) & omitted the butter (since some people said it was greasy). I also used red onion which I liked the flavor it added. I did not saute the cornflakes, just melted the butter in the microwave & added the cereal plus a little garlic powder & paprika. The only negative was my own fault due to using the whole can of soup - it was just too much (I definitely liked not using the butter though - more creamy & less greasy compared to other similar recipes I've used). So in the future I will make the whole recipe or just figure out something to do with the remaining 1/2 can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is delicious! Brought it to a NYE party and it received rave reviews. Based on other reviews I only used 1/8 cup butter in the recipe and 1/8 cup on top with the corn flakes. I also used green onions instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is really delicious as is, however I would recommend sauteing the onions first. After baking for an hour, they were still a little crunchy. It could also use more spices, perhaps some cayenne pepper. But it was still delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This tasted great and my family all loved it, but it was a bit too buttery/greasy and the potatoes were a little firm...I did use a larger home-style cut hashbrown and cooked it for one hour to compensate, but it still wasn't enough time. Next time I will try the smaller hashbrowns and cut the butter back a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States