Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this today and it got mixed reviews. Some thought it was fantastic and other thought it needed more work and perhaps more time in the oven. I made a double batch and followed tips from past reviewers. I eliminated the butter. I used three cans of soup (mushroom, chicken, and celery), which is what I had on hand. I did not add a topping. I let the potatoes thaw as suggested. I mixed everything last night and baked the casserole today. After over 2 hours it was nowhere near done. I then cranked up the over to 385 and baked another hour. It was brown around the edges, which provided some much needed texture. Some guest felt it still did not seem done. Also, my sons felt it would have been more enjoyable had I used cream of cheddar soup in lieu of the ones I used. I think I agree. Also, I baked it in a round, deep dish instead of a 9x13 pan. The depth may have influenced the cooking time and texture. I need a good potato recipe that will feed a crowd and will continue to work on this until I perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very easy! And super tasty! I used onion salt in mine, my family requests this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is a huge hit every time I have made it - both at home or at any function. The first few times I made it, I was not a fan because, as another reviewer mentioned, the potatoes were still rather hard even after 1 hour of baking. Last night I tried pre-cooking the potatoes in a baking pan sprayed with cooking spray for 20 minutes at 350. Then allowing them to cool to room temp. first. Then assembling the casserole. That worked like a charm. I could now give it 5 stars, as I enjoyed it as much as everyone else did!! It's now a permanent dish for all of my pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've made this numerous times now. I get asked all the time for a copy of this recipe. It's the best. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was really good. Nice change from regular hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love this recipe. I have made changes I use Mrs.Dash (garlic and herb) seasoning. And I use either mushroom soup or cream of chicken what. Ever I have on hand. My family likes it extra Cheesy plus I use 2 bags of hash browns. I have been making this recipe for over 10 years and now have pasted it down to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
everyone liked it at brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved it! Will add garlic, onion, peppers and sub more cheddar for parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Really good. We doubled recipe for family get together; mading two 9x13 glass casserole pans. Followed recipe as written. Used half medium Cheddar and half sharp Cheddar cheeses. Increased cooking time to 30 minutes covered, then spun pans & uncovered for additional 30 minutes. Wasn't sure about the cornflakes, but they turned out good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was amazing. They don't sell hash browns where I live (overseas), so I broke out my food processor and made my own. I used the grater blade and grated about 2 lbs of potatoes. I put the grated potatoes into a pot of water and washed them well, drained them and washed them again. This is a really important step, or else the starch will make your potatoes grey. Because I already had the grater out, I grated the onion too. Then I grated the cheese too! (Love this food processor!) I didn't add butter (because I forgot). I definitely think this needs the full tsp of salt. I cut it back and missed it. I did add a can of diced chilies which was an excellent addition. I think I could even go as hot as jalapenño peppers or maybe use Pepper Jack cheese instead of cheddar. I didn't do the topping, but like another reviewer's suggestion of the french onions for the last few minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States