Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made two pans of this for a group of 30 and had little left over. It was very good. I didn't do the corn flake top but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Tastes great and easy to make. This was great dinner side to a grilled flank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I made this for the first time for a group of 10 guests - everyone wants the recipe men included! Very easy to prepare and oh so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Have made this for years, only without the extra butter in the potatoes. It isn't needed. A great recipe-a family favorite. Campbell's, Healthy Request soup and low-fat sour cream reduce the sodium and calories a little (You shouldn't skimp on cheese-we like extra sharp cheddar) I'll have to try the French Fried Onion topping as some have suggested. It really sounds good. I put all ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir away with a wooden spoon. Periodic "stabbing" with the spoon helps break up the frozen chunks. Stick it in the refrigerator and bake the next day. It will take longer to bake if the potatoes are still frozen. I use a 9" X 13" Pyrex dish that has a rubber lid. Just put the dish in the oven (without the lid, of course) as it preheats so you don't wind up breaking the glass by placing a cold dish in a hot oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This was a big hit and plates were licked clean. I made slight changes. Cream of mushroom soup instead of chicken, light sour cream, used half the amount of cheese, and reduced the butter. Even after all that, it was still plenty rich enough. I threw in some ham to make a main dish instead of a side. And it needed a full hour to cook. At 40 minutes the potatoes were still somewhat crunchy. The crumble topping went on halfway through so it wouldn't burn. This would be superb on a lazy Sunday morning for breakfast with the addition of sausage or ham in it. It also opens itself up to tons of variations: pico de gallo with taco mix, w/ground beef & scallions, and you'd have a tex-mex casserole. Can't wait to experiment. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I have to admit, I loved this, but I did change a few things. I too would prefer mushroom soup over chicken. I doubled the recipe and when I did, I doubled the cheese too. I used butter flavored cooking spray to grease my baking dish as well, which gave it a nice crispy-on-the-outside texture, and made cleaning a snap. I also followed the fried onions topping too. I didn't have any problems mixing it together, it just took a little time and I used a folding technique. I wonder if the quality of the frozen hash browns makes a difference? I'm thinking it does. My grocer was out of Ore-ida so I went with a slightly upper brand called Alexia Yukon Select Hashbrowns and man oh man. It was delicious and the potatoes didn't mash together. Those come in an odd weight and since I was doubling it anyway, I went with 3 bags. I hate to deliver the bad news to Cracker Barrel, but this one is clearly the winner. This is going to be my go to recipe for this type and it's clear that it will freeze beautifully. I can smell it on Christmas morning already! ;) I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagnoliaSouth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
French's Fried Onion Rings instead of cornflakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Steph

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Great recipe. Followed it exactly and it is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Excellent, a great favorite for a group. I add potato chips to the top instead of corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Make as is, except I add in a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken. Next time: Less onion, cook longer..closer to an hour topping of crushed ritz crackers. Be sure to add full amount of butter. Less shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States