Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very good. Made it in the crockpot for Christmas morn, turned on high 4 hours but could have gone even five hours. Skipped the topping and sprinkled parm cheese on instead. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Followed lots of reviewers tips. Used 1/4 cup butter, cream of mushroom soup, and sautéed the onions. Had a great flavor, but I just didn't care for the topping. Will definitely make again without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very easy to make and delicious. Made it for Christmas dinner. Great compliment to the ham. The only thing is, it takes a lot longer than 40 minutes to cook. Cooked mine for 1 hour covered. Another 15 minutes uncovers. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Very good very easy!! There will be no left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very good, comforting food. Made nearly as written the first time, just using french fried onions as the topping, put on only the last 5 minutes and uncovering. Took a good hour to bake, not the 40 minutes it says. This time I am making it for parties (2 are in the oven right now). I sautéed the onions in butter because the flavor of the ones that went in raw were a bit much for my kids, and this time I'll use the Cereal topping but still only add the last few minutes uncovered so it can be crunchy. Good recipe that requires very few adjustments. Edited: also had to swap cream of celery for the cream of chicken because we are vegetarians. It was a good replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Roper Balzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this for a Christmas get together and it was all gone within about 30 minutes. I would definitely recommend this recipe, however, I made a few tweaks. First, I used plain Southern hash browns (they are cubed potatoes) and thawed them in the fridge overnight. I then used a little less than 1/4 butter and melted it and fried up the onions until they were translucent. I then put the hash browns in the pan with the onions and warmed them up until they were soft and warm (not browned). Once the potatoes were done, I put them in a bowl and added 8 oz. of regular sour cream, cream of mushroom soup, about a cup of diced ham, about 6 oz. of shredded sharp cheddar cheese (almost an entire bag, but maybe left about 1/2 a cup in the bag), 1/8 tsp of pepper, and about 1/8 tsp of salt. I cut back on the salt and cheese because I figured the ham was salty and could be greasy. I also didn't add any additional melted butter. I placed it in an ungreased 13 x 9 casserole dish. I melted 2 pats of butter in a saucepan and sauted the cornflakes. I sprinkled that over the top of the potatoes. I cooked the dish covered for 45 minutes at 350 F and then uncovered it and cooked it for 10 minutes at 425 F. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
We make this recipe at just about every get together. The chicken soup gives it the perfect flavor. I like the sausage idea; we like cooked & crumbled bacon added to ours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Vlahovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Love this. Only changes I made were to use cream of mushroom soup and for topping I used crushed cheese crackers, makes richer, as if it need be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My kids flipped for this potato dish! I used non-fat sour cream with good results, but it's still an indulgence based on the overall calorie count. I skipped the cornflakes, but made sure the potatoes were pressed down well so the pieces on top would not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Just made this for Thanksgiving and everyone said it was the best cheesy potato recipe they ever tasted. As suggested by the other reviewers, I did reduce the butter to 1/4 cup and made sure the hash browns were thawed. For the topping,I just melted butter in the microwave, stirred it into the corn flakes, and then sprinkled them over the top. I baked it covered with foil for about 45 minutes and then baked uncovered until the top and edges were brown. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 852) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States