Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I needed something a man could cook in a short time for Mother's Day breakfast at our church. This was something that most people could never mess up if they follow the recipe. I ended up doubling the recipe for our church gathering and using Texas Cut hash browns along with adding a pound of breakfast sausage it came out great! My second time, for Father's Day, I am trying it again but without the corn flakes and I am using French Fried Onions instead, as I read on someone else's rating, and I increased the breakfast sausage to be doubled along with everything else. I get a feeling that this is going to become a staple on our church outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Collicott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
To cut out some of the calories/fat I substitute the 1/2 cup butter with a 1/2 of vegetable broth. Keeps it moist and I can't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My husband and son loved this dish! Very easy to make & doesn't take long to cook. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I've made this a few times and always make a few changes. I use tater tots and bake until crispy and golden brown, i use green onion( it's my family's fav) and I use a can of cream of mushroom and roasted garlic as no one in my family cares for cream of chicken, also add lots of freshly cracked black pepper. It's a family fav especially for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used cream of mushroom soup instead - very yummy! I also browned the onions a bit for more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
my family and I did not care for this. and we have never not liked a casserole with a creamy soup and sour cream mixture! this was far too greasy – the amount butter needs to be cut down quite a bit. plenty of oils are released by the melted cheese. it was swimming in butter when it was done! also, the potatoes just did not taste right – they had an “uncooked” taste even though I let them thaw completely and cooked the casserole for a full hour rather than the suggested 40 minutes. perhaps this would be better if the hash browns were browned first. and the corn flake topping was chewy rather than crispy. I will look for another recipe…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I thought this was great. I made it as written for a Spring brunch and everyone loved it. Some of the other reviews are probably right that you don't need as much butter and don't need to saute the corn flakes but I didn't want to mess with it on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
So good. Tastes just like the hash brown casserole I get at Disney at the Beach Club Marketplace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Perfect side dish for just about any protein, but, I served with grilled "Unbelievable Chicken" from this site. I made as the recipe stated, but, only used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup butter in the potatoes. I also used green onions instead of regular onions and we like the flavor and texture much better than a similar casserole I had made in the past. Based on other reviews I cooked a little longer - about 50 minutes and the potatoes were perfectly cooked. Big hit with the family! My niece packed up all the leftovers to take back to college with her for her dorm - that is winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Me and my family were not big fans of this recipe. It took way longer to cook than stated and just didn't taste good enough to be worth the enormous amount of calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 814) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States