Hash Brown Casserole for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by G Pendleton
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is a classic recipe everyone will love. I make mine a little different. Instead of cream of mushroom, I use cream of chicken and instead of processed cheese I use cheddar. It's a must try that will become a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Pendleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. Very sinful and delicious. I recommend not only following the directions but using the right ingredients. It's pretty obnoxious to give a bad review based on your own inability to follow directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good! I gave this a 4 only because all of the cheese was a bit overwhelming. Next time I'll either add some meat to it and make it into a main dish or scale back on the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great quick receipe, however I made a few changes to make it more healthy,2 whole fresh garlic cloves, 32oz of Orta hashbrowns frozen,1 teaspoon paprika 1/2 cup of 2%milk, instead of the two cans of soup, two 6oz packages of 1. fresh graded cheeder cheese 1 mozzerela, and instead substituted mushroom soup to a homemade substitute: Ingredients: 1 tablespoon butter 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour 1/2 cup low sodium chicken or veg broth 1/2 cup low-fat or fat free milk salt and pepper, 1 stalk of celery or 1/2 cup of fresh mushrooms. It taste which made this dish scrumptous ! Let it sit after 5 hrs of slow cooking, then let if sit out for about an hour to firm up and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I love this recipe, but I have to omit a few things here. I don't use a slow-cooker, because I find that the "casserole" turns soupy. Instead, I bake it in a non-stick pan at 400 degrees for 45 minutes or longer. Also, I had to experiment with a few cheeses to get the right texture - less grease. What works well for me is sharp cheddar. If you still use butter, try something like I can't believe it's not butter. Less fat, still enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was fantastic! I used a can of Cream of Chicken & Mushroom soup, and I cooked the casserole for 6 hours on low so I could cook it overnight and have it for a breakfast potluck the next morning. I got so many compliments on it! Plus, it was really easy to make, which is always a plus in my book. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Zuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I served this at a potluck...I used fresh shredded potatoes. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a great quick casserole, when you don't have time to put together a whole lot of ingredients together.I like it the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was good and very fast and easy to put together, but my crock pot dried it out quite a bit - I wonder what I might be able to add to it to make it moister?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
My family loved this recipe and I loved it because everything was done - I did make a couple of changes - I used all fat free stuff and a can of water - I also added 12oz of Turkey/Ham - Will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DestinyKym29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States