Hash Brown Casserole for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Used colby jack cheese instead of cheddar.. Cooked on low for 6 hours and kept warm until served. It was perfect. I like the fact that this recipe doesn't have the large amount of butter as some copykat hash brown casseroles I have tried in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I don't like onions cooked or raw, so instead of sour cream and onion, I use french onion dip. You get the creamy onion taste, without the the tears of chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very easy to put together. I added a ittle garlic and some extra pepper. Tasty and much complimented at out pot-luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My husband and I really didn't like this. It was rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
We made this for a Cub Scout pitch-in and it was a HUGE hit! I made the recipe *exactly* as instructed and it was perfect. Admittedly it didn't look done (not golden brown, like from the oven), but it was... and it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I will add 1lb of crumbled hot cooked pork sausage and a couple of teaspoons of seasoned salt. Sounds wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I made it for Christmas and it was nice not to slave over the stove and play with my daughter. The only thing I would add is extra cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great to free up oven space but my crockpot really dried this out. Next time I'll try adding a cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I am on the fence about this recipe. It sounded great...just the warm comfort food I wanted for brunch the next morning. (I prepared it with frozen hashbrowns and let it sit overnight.) I added a TABLESPOON of red pepper flakes and upped the pepper (freshly ground of course) to 1 teaspoon. I sampled it before putting it in the fridge for the night and found it bland--so I added three generous dashes of hot pepper sauce. When I finally tried it the next day after it was cooked I thought it was alright. My husband said it was good but nothing spectacular (like I usually cook, he added, ha ha!) Definitely has potential for breakfast with the addition of crispy bacon and maybe scrambled eggs too (or served along side), added near the end of the cooking time. Perhaps even a side dish with a meaty dinner with some diced red or green peppers. Would have been very boring without the spice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have made this for work potlucks and it's always one of the first things to go. As is, the recipe is great, but I did make some changes the last few times - I added some Mrs. Dash seasoning (to taste) to add an extra kick to it and use Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States