Hash Brown Casserole for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made it pretty close to as described in the recipe. I mixed the base ingredients ahead of time and spread in a pan and covered with foil. Stuck it in the fridge for a few hours which helped the potatoes thaw. I topped it with corn flakes and drizzled melted butter on top. I think I'll try crushed Ritz crackers next time. This was a hit at Easter. Not a drop left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Cream of chicken and regular cheddar. So good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Saw this recipe and had to try it! I make the same casserole baked in the oven. Thought this would be even easier since I can have it cooking while I'm at work and be ready when I get home. Taste exactly the same (except I put crushed corn flakes drizzled in butter on my baked casserole) this is worth the try! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was a huge hit in my house. I followed the recipe to the T, with the exception of the canned mushroom soup because I have a msg allergy. I made my own home made mushroom soup. Other than that it was amazing, I have made it a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I have made this recipe for big parties a number of times and it is always a huge hit!! I usually leave out the onions since kids are eating but it still tastes amazing! I just use Velveeta but usually do about 3 cups just because we like cheese and it come out great. Otherwise, do it as is and typically double and triple the recipe and then just divide into two crockpots, cooking time is pretty accurate although I have cooked it much longer on low and it is fine. Just have to keep stirring so it doesn't burn! I would HIGHLY recommend using the crockpot liners for this dish though, cleanup is a breeze. I have done before without and pots usually have to soak a while! I have passed out the recipe numerous times as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I use this for cold days or potlucks! I don't use as much sour cream and I add french fried onions to the top for some crunch! Sometimes I use cream of chicken and I always use sharp cheddar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Awesome recipe! I made a double batch in a 7 qt slow cooker with great success. I used the suggested cooking times (1.5 hours on high and 2.5 hours on low), giving the casserole a good stir when I turned down the temperature and then again at serving time. Note: Thawing the potatoes is crucial! I tried a this a few years ago starting with frozen potatoes, and they were still partially frozen after 3 hours on high. This time, I thawed the potatoes first (almost 24 hours in the fridge), and they were piping hot and ready to eat right on schedule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
I made this for a bowling banquet for 30 ladies. Doubled the recipe, made no other changes. Brought home two servings! It was easy and delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrsmegnolia
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I rated this recipe with four stars because it was really good. Although I did enjoy it, I think next time I'll add less sour cream as it seemed to overpower most of the other ingredients. Maybe in place of one cup of sour cream I'll add one can of cream of chicken soup. Taking the advice from previous reviews I used shredded cheddar because I absolutely despise processed cheese of any kind. This was good advice! Thanks to all of you that recommended that change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrsmegnolia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
good. used real cheddar instead of processed.1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom were my soups.Im sure any "cream of " soup would work.Crock pot cooking is a great bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States