Hash Brown and Pork Chop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
I was glad that I read most of the reviews before starting this recipe. I browned the pork chops with worc. sause, garlic powder, and seasoning salt but next time will omit the worc. sause because I found the taste wasn't fitting to the final result. I cooked the potatoes and onions in the same pan after with onion soup mix for flavour. Doubled up on cheese and put half into the mixture, along with mushroom soup in place of celery. Put a thin layer of the potatoe mixture on bottom, then put the chops (this kept them moist), then the rest of the potatoes. In oven for about 50, but 60 would be better. Put remaining cheese on top with about 20 minutes left and kept the lid off. Was really good and full of flavour tho next time will cut back on the sauce just as a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wow, hard to know where to start with this one! I enjoyed this but I made a lot of modifications based on other reviews. First, I used O'Brian potatoes because I wanted the onion and pepper already in there. I browned my pork chops in worchestershire sauce and seasoned them with garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Then I browned the potatoes a bit too before I put them in the dish. I used cream of mushroom soup and mixed in half the cheese with the soup and sour cream. I layered the potatoes, chops, potatoes and baked for about 40 minutes. I sprinkled cheese over the top during the last 10 minutes of baking. It was quite good, although I'm not sure how much it actually resembles the original recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Tasty enough to make again. I too added a splash of worchester sauce and all seasoning when frying, which added extra taste. Next time, I plan to cut the pork chops into cubes and still fry the same and mix into the casserole instead of placing the large chunks on top (I mean, you have to cut them into smaller bites anyway, why not just mix into the hotdish?). Thanks for the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Based upon other reviews about the dish being bland, I used Lipton onion soup mix to season. I added about 3/4 envelope to sour cream/soup mixture and omitted the onions. The flavoring was perfect. I overcooked the chops - 50 min was too long. Next time I will top with cheese about the last 20 minutes of baking. I'm making it for a friend tonight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Easy and delicious! My husband and son loved it. Perfect for company or Sunday dinner on a cold winter day. I added garlic powder and pushed the chops down into the potato mixture to keep them moist while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
this recipe is the best. because i have small kids i cut up the chops into bite size pieces and mix it into the hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This recipe was very good (something different). It was easy to make and the hash browns were creamy. I used sharp cheese instead of mild and felt that the hash browns could use the extra kick. My boyfriend felt that the pork chops could have used some sort of seasoning while cooking in the oven. I feel that this recipe gives you room to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I took everyones advice and used Worshteschire sauce on the chops. Also, ten minutes before the dish was done, I added french fried onions to the top of the potatoes and pork. It turned out delicious. The family loves this one!! The potatoes are the best part, nice and creamy. Thanks for such a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Really good down home casserole. I recommend adding salt, pepper and to saute the onions before adding them to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very tasty, very unhealthy!! But just one of those great on a cold day rib-stickin' meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States