Hash Brown and Pork Chop Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This recipe was okay. I would recommend that the onions be partially cooked first. They were still a bit raw in this dish and overpowered it. Otherwise, I think it it has good potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I thought this recipe was very good. I used O'Brien hashbrowns instead of shredded hashbrowns and I also used boneless chops and cubed them and sauteed them in worchestershire sauce with the onions. I would recommend using more than one cup of cheese. The potatoe portion was my favorite, tasted almost like warm potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Great recipe, my husband and children liked this one a lot. I added cream of mushroom soup as that is all I had. Next time I may brown hashbrowns but this was good and I will definitely make this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
This was JUST OKAY. I should make a point of reading all of the reviews before whipping up something like this for dinner. The ingredients were acceptable, the dish easy, but it was just bland overall. Certainly needs some spices to "pep it up a notch". My husband isn't a fan of pork so I don't know if I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANEDREAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This was so good and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was pretty good. My husband loved it! I didn't have cream of celery so I put in cheddar cheese soup instead. Very creamy. I made hashbrowns from scratch....Next time I will cook them in a frying pan to brown them a bit before adding to receipe to make it a little more crunchy. I also seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder and salt before placing on top. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
My fiance loved this and finished almost the entire dish on his own. I was not so fussed because I found the hash browns made the dish too greasy. I used lean pork steaks instead of pork chops and did as other reviewers suggested browning the pork with worchestershire sauce and I also rolled the pork in ground sage. Next time I will par-boil and slice a regular potato instead of the hash browns and use a thick Greek style yoghurt in place of the sour cream. Hopefully my fiance will love the dish just as much after these changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
This recipe was very good (something different). It was easy to make and the hash browns were creamy. I used sharp cheese instead of mild and felt that the hash browns could use the extra kick. My boyfriend felt that the pork chops could have used some sort of seasoning while cooking in the oven. I feel that this recipe gives you room to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
Very easy to make! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2003
The guys took a vote and said this was a keeper - 4 1/2 stars. The chops were moist and I will definately make this again. I too added a packet of onion soup mix to the sour cream and omitted the choped onions and browned the chops in worchestshire sauce. This and a green salad made an easy weekday meal. Will definately make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States