Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
My whole family really loved this dish. I made it on the spur of the moment, and changed a few things to use what I had on hand. First, after reading the reviews here I decided to use a 9X13 inch baking dish. It turned out to be the perfect size. Since I only had 4 eggs, I just used those. I added about 4 ounces of ricotta cheese to the eggs as well, and used a bit less milk than the recipe called for. Also, I didn't have any sausage but did have a lot of leftover ham as well as a few slices of cooked bacon. I sauteed the onions first, added some minced garlic, and finally tossed in the chopped ham and crumbled bacon to heat it through. I then assembled the casserole as directed. I only baked it for about 50 minutes total, and it was perfect. A dollop of sour cream on top of each serving, and we loved it! The leftovers heated up nicely for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
What a wonderful dish!! I made this for dinner instead of breakfast, it turned out delicious, but I did make a few changes. First, I used a 9x13 glass dish, and used 1 1/2 lbs. hash browns that had diced pepper & onion in them, which added wonderful flavor, I highly recommend doing this. Second, I used 10 eggs instead of 5, which was perfect and doubled the milk. This was perfectly baked at one hour also. I used 8 ounces of Morningstar Farms vegetarian breakfast sausage sliced, and meat eaters could barely tell the difference! I will use this recipe often, and definitely make it again using regular sausage. Another tip, the last 3-4 minutes of baking, remove the foil and turn the broiler on, this really made the cheese nice. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I had this for breakfast today and it was great! I put it together the night before and just had to bake it this morning. I used shedded hash browns and cooked them before I put them in the dish. I also used fresh mushrooms and green pepper with onion that I sauted. My husband and son loved it. Thanks for the great recipe, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
457 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I toss the frozen hashbrowns with 3 tablespoons melted butter and bake in a 400 degree oven for 30 minutes before adding the rest of the ingredients. This eliminates the bland potato taste and improves the texture. I don't add the onion or garlic powder at all because it makes it a little to savory for 8 am. I even make the night before and bake the following morning with excellent results. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Just made this, but it is still in the oven cooking so can't attest to the taste. However, I never could have fit this all into a 8 x 8 pan. Had to use 2 8 x 8 pans for everything to fit in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Great tasting, however, I cut the recipe in half and it filled an entire casserole dish. We thought it could've used more sausage, so next time when we make this and cut the recipe in half we will use a full lb of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I make this recipe exactly as written and it comes out perfect every time and it's delicious! Sometimes I forget to even thaw the potatoes, I just let them thaw in the pan as the oven preheats. I think the problem many are having is that they are using the diced potatoes. Maybe it's a regional thing, but around here hash brown potatoes are shredded, diced potatoes will definitely be too dry and 2 pounds way too much for this! 2 pounds of shredded potatoes though compacts nicely on the bottom of the pan. I bet making this into a couple of quiches would be delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I added more eggs as it seemed dry...everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this recipe for brunch today and it was really good. The recipe is a keeper. I took out about a cup of shredded potatoes because I thought the pan would overflow and made up another small second pan by adding another 3 egg/milk/seasoning mixture. Reduced the cheese from 12 oz to 8 oz and still perfect. Next time, I might experiment with adding cajun seasoning to the potatoes or pre-cook, as previous rating suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I fixed this for our annual Easter morning breakfast at church. It was a hit with everyone. It calls for few ingredients and is quite easy to put together. It is surely a KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States