Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
After reading everyones reviews added 3 extra eggs, milk, and sour cream. Also added some rotel, and used the 1 lb bag of has browns out of the refrigerator section. Used a 9x13 dish 8x8 was impossible even before the extra stuff. It was still kind of bland I suggest maybe some bell pepper and if you do rotel...do hash brown rotel cheese sausage eggs then cheese. I will be garnishing with a little salsa or hot sauce for some flare. Over all great base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Made this for family Easter brunch. Everyone loved it! I used spicy sausage & baked in a 9x13 pan. I did mix everything together instead of layering. Absolutely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Delicious flavors all around. I used egg beaters and only six ounces of sharp cheddar and it was plenty. I also seasoned the potatoes with salt and a lot of pepper before putting them in the casserole dish. Be sure to thoroughly drain the sausage before you layer it in the casserole. If you don't do it before, trust me, you'll have to do it afterwards and it's much more difficult to sop up the hot grease with paper towels after it comes out of the oven. One thing that occurred to me as I was enjoying this breakfast strata was that it would be well paired with a vegetable. Maybe a tomato and cucumber salad? Something with a bright flavor to offset all of the warm flavors of the casserole. Thanks for a great recipe, Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was pretty good! Will be great for a pot-luck, brunch or family get-together. I used dehydrated hashbrowns, freeze-dried whole eggs, Italian sausage and it turned out great. This WILL be a keeper. Three and 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Great recipe and easy to make. Next time will try adding broccoli and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Prepared this yesterday & it was ready to bake & eat after mass today. It was a keeper- But a little dry. I read the comments & took notes & next time I will use 10 eggs & double the milk & probably use the hash browns that have green peppers & onions in them. Otherwise I loved it & will make it for Easter Brunch. Biscuits on the side! Thank you for not requiring bread cubes in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Freeze individual servings for widower living alone. Cooking for one senior is difficult, so I made this dish and then divided the results into six freezer Tuperwares.It's much better than frozen TV dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This dish was fantastic. My family loved it. I, now, make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for church meals... I usually make it to serve 150 and it's always loved. I especially like the one comment about precooking the potatoes w/ butter before assembling. That adds texture and another layer of flavor to this dish. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My guys loved it, but said it needed some kick. I did use O'Brien potatoes (the frozen potatoes with added onions and peppers) just because it's my favorite. I had a mix of cheddar and mozzarella cheese. Used a 9x13 inch dish; it needed the 60 minutes, not less than that. Not sure what to add for the kick. They would be happy with salsa on the side, I guess. But definitely a keeper for breakfast if not for dinner.... I don't need a lot of kick to get me going in the morning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States