Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used a 9x13 casserole and added spinach and tomatoes - yummy! Leftovers are great to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is so good and so easy. I did substitute the hash browns with the hash browns with onions and green peppers in it leaving out the chopped onion. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Roosevelt, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made a version of this for brunch today. Cut every thing by half (4 lg.eggs) and made it in a 9" Cast Iron skillet. Just right for two. I substituted Creole Seasoning for all the other spices & used a combo of Smoked Monterey Jack and mild Cheddar. Mmm, Mmm GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
The whole family loved it... To save dishes I made in a cast iron skillet! I also skipped the onion and garlic powder and sautéed fresh garlic with the onion and sausage. Next time I will use 1/2 the potatoes and double the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Made this for a tailgate party at a Saturday morning Varsity Soccer match. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was very good, I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
My family really liked this - I used plain sausage and not quite so much milk. It would be good for dinner as well as breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
It's a yummy recipe. The modifications I made were: tossed 1 1/2 tbsp melted butter with 1 1/2 lb chopped hash browns and baked in 9x13 at 400F for 30 min before adding the rest. Used turkey sausage instead of pork and 10 eggs. Baked all at 400F for 40 min. Next time I will take out the salt completely, there is already plenty of salt in the butter, cheese and turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
What an awesome recipe made even better by so many reviews with suggestions! First of all, I KNEW that I had to make this in a 13x9" pan. No way does this fit in a 2-qt or 8x8 pan. I chose a stoneware-type so it would retain heat as long as possible as I needed to transport it. Using so many of your recommendations, I assembled it the night before, I pre-cooked the froz.potatoes w/3 Tbsp melted butter (Brummel&Brown in my case) for 30 mins.@400F, and cooled completely before layering.I used 4 eggs equiv. (i.e. 1 cup) of EggBeaters, 1/2C fat-free half&half, reduced-fat bulk pork sausage,a little leftover chopped ham (if I'd had some bacon I'd have added that, too), chopped peppers w/the onions, minced garlic, a splash of Frank's Red Hot Wings sauce, finely shredded reduced-fat Mexican style 4-cheese blend (I used a bit less than 12 oz. and it was fine), freshly ground peppercorns, salt, and kept everything else the same per original recipe. I put the refrigerated dish into the cold oven, then turned it on so it could gradually heat up, and started the 1 hr. from there. Plus just under the 10 mins. uncovered, it was cooked to perfection. NO leftovers. It was a hit. LOVE a recipe that can be tweaked in so many ways and come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
If you plan on making this, please note that you will definitely need a 9 x 11 baking pan, plus you'll probably want to use at least 8 eggs. In addition to the sausage, I also threw in a couple of large diced tomatoes and a diced green bell pepper from the garden. Also made it with a combination of extra-sharp and Swiss cheeses. Turned out really well, and my toddlers couldn't get enough. Looking forward to trying it with bacon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States