Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I spread the hash browns into a 9x13" pan sprayed with PAM the day before I plan to use. Then I bake those potatoes in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. Meanwhile I brown the sausage and onion. Once the pan comes out of the oven I top the potatoes with the sausage and cheese. When cooled I cover and refrigerate until the morning. Set the pan out to warm a little before I pour on the egg mixture - then bake as recipe directs. Sometimes to take this recipe over the top I add crisp,crumbled bacon,too. It's a 2 meat treat! You have an almost make ahead brunch casserole that is super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
As others mention, this recipe is too big to fit in a 2 qt casserole. Use larger baking dish or cut down recipe. Good breakfast for seeral.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I had to use double the eggs. But my result was delicious. What I ended up with after adding the eggs was 5 star worthy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Recipe was a good start. After reading a lot of the reviews and using the items I had on hand I made some changes and it came out delish! I cut the potatoes in half (and prebaked them w/a bit of butter the night before), used smashed up pork sausage patties precooked w/onions, increased the eggs to 8. I also added a 1/2 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1/4 cup of Sour cream to the egg mixture. I then put a few shakes of Sriracha sauce in for a little kick! I substituted a blend of Mexican cheeses for the Cheddar too. I baked these as individual squares in my Pampered Chef Brownie pan and they came out awesome; nice and crispy on all sides! Packaged the leftovers in snack size baggies (2 squares per baggie) for quick on the go breakfast during the week. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This turned out well. I knew this would be far too thick for us in an 8x8 pan, though, so I used a 9x13 pan and added one extra egg. I didn't have frozen hash browns and used refrigerated ones. I kept everything else the same. Our favorite part was the crispy edges, so next time, I'll bake in muffin cups or mini loaf pans for more edges. I had more potatoes than I needed, so I made a small pan with the leftover hash browns and used bacon in that one. But we liked the sausage one much better. I'll definitely make this again, but I think I'll add more to the mixture...peppers, mushrooms, broccoli and/or greens would all make great additions for us. And next time I'll mix a little of the cheese with the hash browns before I pat them in the pan...maybe a little of the sausage, too. The potatoes got a little lost flavor-wise with the thick layer of cheese and sausage on the top. But this is definitely a keeper for us, and it will probably be our Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This turned out great for me when I brought it to a church brunch. The combination of egg, cheese, potatoes and sausage are always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe is great and its been a great hit in my home. Great idea for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Costa's Cafe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Delicious but when I make it again I will use a 13x9" pan. I only used a 1lb14oz bag of hash browns and it seemed like a lot of potatoes. Maybe it will be better if they are spread out more. I would also use a mix of shredded and potatoes o'brien. Having said all that, my guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Good recipe but listen to the others....I used 7 eggs and used a 9 x 13 dish. I wish I had added more seasonings to the hash browns and browned them first because they came out rather bland. Other than a few minor adjustments it is worth making this...it will feed a small gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States