Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I used ground turkey that I added spices to to "fake" pork sausage. I did add a few more eggs, some real bacon bits (I was cleaning out the fridge) and one can of diced mild green chilies. MAN, this was DELICIOUS. I topped my portion with sour cream and homemade salsa.......then went back for seconds. I didn't even mess with my toast. NOTE: Mine took almost two hours to bake. One hour covered and almost another full hour uncovered. Keep this in mind when you make this so you don't almost die of hunger by the time this casserole's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I'm giving this 4 stars due to the ratio being quite off. There needs to be more eggs to potato ratio. This is an easy fix. I've also read the reviews and heeded the advice of another and poured 1/2 cup melted butter over the frozen hash browns in the baking dish, cooked uncovered for 30 minutes. Then I add the other ingredients but I use 7 eggs and 3/4 c milk. I also mix season all salt into the potatoes, the egg mixture, and when I only have ground beef I use that too. This recipe can be played with in every which way. Change up the cheese to a Mexican blend, change the spices here and there, add or remove the inion. It's all very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Great texture, lacking in flavor though. Decreased cheese, used a whole onion and added some mushroom and spinach, mixed ham and sausage for meat. Very good with ketchup, though! Will try red peppers with the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Everybody loved this Easter brunch casserole. I used 2 8x8 glass casserole dishes and increased to a dozen eggs. I only used about 3/4 of the bag of hash browns and it took a total of 20 minutes after I uncovered it. I will be making this again because it was great. Oh, and I added diced tomatoes to the egg mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I have made this recipe many times since finding it on here. It is always a great hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe as given, and as given -I'd rate it 3.5 stars. I used shredded dehydrated potatoes, that I re-hydrated and fried them. As others have noted, this was too much to fit comfortably into an 8x8 pan. So I put it in a 9x13. Since I changed the pan, it was spread "thinner" so I did a layer of cheese and sausage and topped with cheese again (vs trying to split the sausage in half" and I baked for about 45 minute instead. If left it uncovered a little longer, since I like a crispy topping :) It was moist and I enjoyed it. That said, it was a little bland for my taste buds. I would definitely make again but add a little "something" for my own personal taste :) Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
It was something different for breakfast , they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My family is rating this recipe a 5. I, however, give this recipe a 3 rating. The casserole bursts with flavor on the top layer, but the bottom, filled with unseasoned potatoes, is bland. I recommend adding a can of cream of mushroom, 1/2 cup of sour cream, 1/4 cup of diced green bell peppers, and 1/8 cup of green onions to the egg mixture. To balance the flavor, for our next brunch, I will layer the potatoes with the egg mixture and the sausage and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I added one more egg and 1/4 more milk. It was a little dry the first time. I also add green peppers. My husband loves this and we now make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelscookin'

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
The first time I made it (exactly per the recipe) the hash browns overpowered. Made it again, but this time I put in 10 eggs, 3/4 c milk, doubled the onion powder/garlic powder, added another 8oz shredded cheese, added a small can of green chiles, and a few fresh diced tomatoes. (and yeah, you'll need a BIGGER casserole dish!) It was much better, but still 'needs something'.. (e.g. gravy, picante, spinach, mushrooms, bell pepper, scallions, butter, sour cream, other herb/spice??). It's pretty filling and hearty with some decent ingredients, so I will be making it again -and continue the experimentation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightSky

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 11-20 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States