Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe. I did make a few changes based on what my family enjoys to eat. I always use maple pork sausage links and just slice them up. I also add 1 or 2 eggs because it can seem dry with only 5. Definitely use a 9x13 inch pan!!!! I also add a about 2 tablespoons of maple syrup to the egg mixture. My husband hates onions, so I only use the onion powder. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I doubled this recipe, but only used one bag of the shredded hash browns. I also added diced garlic. This casserole was easy to make and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Yummy! My 2 and 5 year old kids enjoyed eating this dish. We added green peppers instead of onions. I also added 16oz of cottage cheese and used 6 eggs instead of 5. There is definitely more potatoes in this dish than eggs. The dish did not taste dry at all - it was perfect. If you want a more eggy casserole this isn't it or at least you may have to try adding 8 to 10 eggs. Made again twice. This time without the cottage cheese which made the dish a bit dry. Still yummy, but I would recommend using a 1 lb of potatoes and 8 eggs - possibly adding cottage cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Family loved this recipe. I assembled this night night before. Omitted the onion powder and added diced green chiles. Will definitely make again!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was a big hit at our Christmas brunch. I used a 9x13 pan, bacon in place of sausage, and doubled the eggs. There are NO leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I changed the recipe a little bit and it turned out pretty good. I used 1lb of sage sausage, hash rounds instead of shredded, omitted the onion, 8 eggs instead of 5 3/4 cup of milk, onion powder,, garlic powder, ground red pepper, salt and pepper, and a bag and a half of mexican shredded cheese. Pretty much followed the assembling directions except I cooked the hash rounds first. I used a metal pan so I only cooked it for 45 min, 15 of that with the foil off. It tastes really good. Could possibly stand to be just a tad less dry, so next time I will try cooking it just a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good! My family enjoyed this for supper one evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fabulous!! I made this last christmas but because we don't eat pork we used half a pack of turkey backon instead. I'm making it again because it's such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Torbay, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I followed others advice and decreased the eggs to 3 and the milk to 1/4 cup. I also halved the amount of hash browns to 2 cups. I threw on some real bacon bits and red and yellow peppers for color. Also using others suggestion, I pre-baked the hash browns for 15 minutes. It turned out great using the directions on bake time and pan size after the changes were made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. Works great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States