Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very good! My family enjoyed this for supper one evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fabulous!! I made this last christmas but because we don't eat pork we used half a pack of turkey backon instead. I'm making it again because it's such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Torbay, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I followed others advice and decreased the eggs to 3 and the milk to 1/4 cup. I also halved the amount of hash browns to 2 cups. I threw on some real bacon bits and red and yellow peppers for color. Also using others suggestion, I pre-baked the hash browns for 15 minutes. It turned out great using the directions on bake time and pan size after the changes were made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Excellent recipe. Works great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was good but I only added about half of the hash browns and that was plenty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I made this for an office potluck. It was like by most all my co-workers. A couple of the ladies asked for the recipe. I made this with half a 30oz bag of shredded hash brown potatoes, 8 very large eggs, half and half, colby jack cheese. This dish had a very good taste. I didn't add the onion or garlic powder. It seemed too much with the sausage and diced onion already in the dish. I'll definitely make this again. I think I'll try Italian sausage and some Italian cheeses..yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! My favorite breakfast casserole so far! Simple ingredients, easy to make, and very tasty. I stuck to the recipe except for a few things... i used a 1 pound bag of hash browns (shredded, not obrien) instead of 2 pounds (because thats what i had) and that was just the right amount.(i wonder if 2 pounds was a typo?) I used a 9x12 pan and it cooked nice and even. Next time, i may bake the hash browns for a while, while im browning the sausage, but it was great without pre-baking too. i sauteed the onions w the sausage and added the spices required as well as some emerile essence (or seas. salt). also used a mixed bag of mexi blend cheese as well as some pepper jack(again, thats what i had in the house), and i think that helped flavor of the dish. Then serve w country gravy or green chili :) Yummo! My family is excited to munch on the leftovers before school and work tomorrow too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajoW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Great recipe! I halved the recipe except I used 1 lb Jimmy Dean sausage, 1 lb Ore Ida hash browns with onions and peppers, and extra cheddar cheese. I put it in an 8x8 and baked for 50 minutes with the foil on, 10 minutes without it. The husband loved it, and even my 2-year-old ate it!! Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCorley
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars with some changes. I made it first following the recipe except for doubling the eggs. The crust ended up really bland. Second time around, I tossed the hashbrowns with 1/4 c margarine and 1/2 cup minced onion and 1/2 tsp seasoned salt and pre- baked for 20 minutes. Then I whisked together 10 eggs and reduced the milk to 1/4 cup. Whisked with Salt. Poured that over the hashbrown crust. Topped with sharp cheddar cheese and Jimmy Dean turkey sausage crumbles (whole package). This was much better the second time around. We enjoyed it with biscuits and gravy. Mashed up together it's heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deb1175

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berea, Ohio, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
very good hubby had 3 big slices added bacon instead of sausage and some green peppers topped it off with some sour cream and hot sauce perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States