Hash Brown and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I will add something to the potatoes before baking next time. They needed a little something extra. Maybe I didn't drain the sausage as well as I should have, or maybe it was the shredded cheddar, or both - but I had to drain off A LOT of oil before serving. I like the recipe for the simplicity however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as directed, using bulk Italian sausage. It was easy to prepare the entire family loved it. The recipe made much more than I needed, so I made it in two pans and froze one. The second dish was frozen for 4 months, but when thawed and cooked, it equally as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
After reading everyones reviews added 3 extra eggs, milk, and sour cream. Also added some rotel, and used the 1 lb bag of has browns out of the refrigerator section. Used a 9x13 dish 8x8 was impossible even before the extra stuff. It was still kind of bland I suggest maybe some bell pepper and if you do rotel...do hash brown rotel cheese sausage eggs then cheese. I will be garnishing with a little salsa or hot sauce for some flare. Over all great base recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Made this for family Easter brunch. Everyone loved it! I used spicy sausage & baked in a 9x13 pan. I did mix everything together instead of layering. Absolutely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Delicious flavors all around. I used egg beaters and only six ounces of sharp cheddar and it was plenty. I also seasoned the potatoes with salt and a lot of pepper before putting them in the casserole dish. Be sure to thoroughly drain the sausage before you layer it in the casserole. If you don't do it before, trust me, you'll have to do it afterwards and it's much more difficult to sop up the hot grease with paper towels after it comes out of the oven. One thing that occurred to me as I was enjoying this breakfast strata was that it would be well paired with a vegetable. Maybe a tomato and cucumber salad? Something with a bright flavor to offset all of the warm flavors of the casserole. Thanks for a great recipe, Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This was pretty good! Will be great for a pot-luck, brunch or family get-together. I used dehydrated hashbrowns, freeze-dried whole eggs, Italian sausage and it turned out great. This WILL be a keeper. Three and 1/2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Papa Joe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Great recipe and easy to make. Next time will try adding broccoli and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Prepared this yesterday & it was ready to bake & eat after mass today. It was a keeper- But a little dry. I read the comments & took notes & next time I will use 10 eggs & double the milk & probably use the hash browns that have green peppers & onions in them. Otherwise I loved it & will make it for Easter Brunch. Biscuits on the side! Thank you for not requiring bread cubes in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Freeze individual servings for widower living alone. Cooking for one senior is difficult, so I made this dish and then divided the results into six freezer Tuperwares.It's much better than frozen TV dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This dish was fantastic. My family loved it. I, now, make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States