Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
All I can say is WOW! Amazing! Mmmmm! I just made it. It was my BF's first time having rabbit... we ordered 3 more :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tayca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
Used snowshoe hare with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Wonderful, top-notch recipe!!! Sauce is sooooo tasty in this recipe and would be good over most other white meats as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
To die for! This is the perfect fall stew. And the gravy... Oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Wonderful recipe, I strained the juice before making the gravy, it seemed to be too chunky to thicken. Gravy, to me, always is better smooth. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Spectacular! This is a forgiving recipe. I didn't have shallots or currant jelly so I used 1/3 cup diced onion and some red raspberry jam instead. It was still absolutely wondeful. We like to have an elegant meal at home on New Year's, with all the kids here. We will definitely use this recipe this year. We raise our own meat rabbits and I used one we'd butchered too late yet it came out totally tender. I think this would be a good recipe for wild rabbit as well, because toughness will not be an issue with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was a hit! The rabbit came out moist and full of flavor, which left the guests fighting over the last bits. I splurged for some high quality, fresh bacon, which I think added a lot to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Oh My Goodness! This was awesome! I've never made rabbit before & my local meat market had them in as a specialty . This was gourmet! *I would recommend going with a good low sodium bacon, and low sodium boullian b/c it seemed a bit on the salty side*. I'd also add fresh mushrooms the last hour. I served it w/ mashed red-skins and baby glazed carrots (seriously!) The wine I used was Penfolds Shiraz Cabernet. Not only was it perfect for the dish, but a great wine to serve with the meal. Smooth, delicate, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Savard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This was an excellent recipe, my first rabbit experience. I followed the recipe until right after cooking the garlic & shallot, at which time I added everything to the crockpot, set it on low, and cooked it for 9 hours. Then I made the gravy as directed and served with oven-roasted potatoes & carrots. We used wild snowshoe hare in the recipe and it turned out melt-in-your-mouth tender. My husband couldn't stop raving about how tender it was. My 4-year old had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was the best rabbit I have ever eaten! I used a wild cottontail rabbit and it turned out so flavorful, moist and tender. I didn't have the boullion granules so I just substituted the water with chicken broth. I also didn't have currant jelly so I used black raspberry jelly. The gravy is SO good. I'll definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States